Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 5 {Slider Mountain Climber Plank}

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

It seems like I just started the Plank Challenge, but now we are already almost done with the third week! Time flies when you are having fun, right? I don't know about all of you, but I have had fun sharing all of these variations.

Today's version is a spin on one you have seen before--the Mountain Climber. Doing this move on the sliders brings a whole different aspect to the exercise. In some ways it is a little bit easier being able to slide your feet along instead of tap or hop, but in other ways it is more challenging in that you have to keep even pressure through the feet and down into the floor activating slightly different stabilizing muscles. My friend Julie is back to demonstrate this one.

Cues:

  1. Place your feet right in the middle of your sliders so that they stay on top and don't fall off during the movement.
  2. Lock your core in tight to prevent the low back from dipping down and putting too much pressure on your spine.
  3. Start out slow on the motion to get a feel for it, then once you feel solid pick up the pace to make it more challenging.

Beginner: Perform for 30 seconds

Intermediate: Perform for 45 seconds

Advanced: Perform for 60 seconds

As a runner this is definitely one I incorporate a lot to work on that core strength during a striding motion. It also activates the quadriceps and other hip flexor muscles that are utilized in running and cycling. I haven't been giving as many modifications this week since there haven't been too many questions, but for most of these moves you can perform the same variations on the floor or with hands elevated. As always, listen to your body and go as hard or as easy as you feel you need on a given day! Do the exercises individually or throw them together for a solid core workout.

I still only have one entry for week 2, so I'll give through the end of the day to join in if you want to pop in an entry! Refer back to the Original Contest Post for guidelines on what to include in your entry post. You are welcome to enter every week, so my runners can go back and do week 2 and join in for this current week if you want to do some extra planking and win a prize. 😉

Happy Planking!

Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 4
Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 3
Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 2
Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 1

*Make sure to consult your health professional if you have any current or prior medical issues that may prohibit starting a new exercise program.



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa

Sort:  

Time really flies and it only gets worse when getting older :)
I'm looking forward to doing all the variations on Sunday

If you haven't seen yet, actifit is doing a planking challenge you might want to join (See Announcement)

I know, right? I can't believe we're already coming up on the last quarter of the year. I hope you enjoy this week's variations!

I did see their planking challenge pop up. I still haven't signed up for an account mostly because I just don't carry my phone around with me to be able to track steps. I think I got as far as downloading the app, but then I realized I don't think I would use it enough to be worth it. Maybe at some point I'll try it out to see. It's cool that they are going to start supporting @runningproject's runner of the week challenge, though!

Oh!! This is not as easy as it looks. :)

I am going to have to give this some serious time. Thank you for upping the ante. I know I will rise to this challenge.

This is a wonderful challenge and thanks so much for sponsoring it and taking the time to put it together.

Upped and Steemed

You're the best @dswigle!! Thanks for the continued support and for giving the moves a go! Have a fantastic day my friend!

I do this one from time to time its great!

Definitely a classic! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44