Plank Challenge Week 1, Day 1 {Basic Plank}

in #contest6 years ago

Hey everyone!  I am excited to have a few definite participants, and hopefully some more will join along the way for my Plank Challenge!  If you didn't see my post yesterday, make sure to go back and check it out for the challenge guidelines.  You can join at any point during the week as long as you get your entry post in within the allotted time frame. :)

Today marks the first day of the challenge and the start of @steemusa week, so we are beginning with the basics.  Though you can join in at any point, if you are interested in seeing some changes in core strength and stability it would be great to jump in at the start to be able to see progress by the end of the 4-week period.  As a personal trainer, I know many of my clients really like to see measurable results. Whether that is losing inches, lifting heavier weights, or being able to hold a plank for longer than when they first started. (See where I'm going here?)



So we are going to start out with testing how long you can hold a basic plank.  In the video you can see the low plank position, but I'll give you some cues to make sure you are positioned correctly:

  1. Set your elbows up directly underneath your shoulders on the floor or mat and be sure to keep good posture through your upper back.
  2. Maintain a straight line from head to toe without letting your back either sway down or your butt pop up.
  3. Engage your glutes (butt muscles) to help hold that strong position from the hip and think about scooping your pelvis under to tuck your stomach in tight, as well.
  4. Don't forget to breath. ;)
  5. Think happy thoughts and hold that solid position as long as you can!

Having a friend to join in with you for this initial test is a great way to have a little extra encouragement to really hold as long as you can.  It can also provide a little friendly competition to push through longer, too, haha!  Record your time and be sure to include that in your write up if you are joining in to try to snag a prize.  We will also end out the series with the same test, so you can compare to see if your endurance has improved.

Finding your center for this initial plank will also help as we increase the intensity and complexity of the moves, so it is important to really nail down that good form and engage those strong core muscles.  The plank is all about core stability and bringing in not just the abs, but all of the core muscles that surround the spine and pelvis.  That's part of the reason why we trainers like planks so much--they are functional to how you actually use your body (or should use it) in real life!

As always, if you have any questions, please let me know!  Otherwise happy planking!

*Make sure to consult your health professional if you have any current or prior medical concerns that may prohibit starting a new exercise program.

Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa
Sort:  

I did try how long I could hold the basic plank position a while back when It used to be part of my daily routine. ~150 seconds was the longest I ever did. (I have no clue if that is any good) I don't expect to be able to hold it that long now though but I will give it a try again today. will be interesting to see the progress over the course of a month doing mainly core work outs.

150 seconds is actually pretty great! Even if you're not there right now, I'm sure you could pretty easily get back to it. Especially with daily core focused work. :)

A perfect exercise for runners.
I used to do planks on a weekly basis as well.
Good post as usual @plantstoplanks

Thanks Eddie! They really are fantastic to help us develop great core strength to be able to hold good posture while running. Hopefully I'll share some variations along the way that you may not have tried yet. ;)

Sure!!! I am willing to try them!!!

Thanks and happy to say Day one completed. This is going to be awesome I just know it. I have very little core strength as a newbie who doesn’t do enough regular exercise so believe me you will be making a whole new woman of me😆

Awesome! Can't wait to hear about this new woman, haha! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98