PENNSIF'S PUZZLES #1 : Do you know your flowers?

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

I thought it would be fun to try a little contest on steemit

I've only been on steemit for 6 days and I am still finding my way round so it won't be anything fancy like the games from @papa-pepper

I haven't reached the 7 days yet to earn anything so alas there won't be any proper prizes.

The contest is simple - all you have to do is guess the names of the 7 flowers below and post your answers in the comments.

The contest will run until midnight Monday 26 June (UK time). Then the winner will be picked at random from all those with the most correct answers.

As a general clue all the flowers were photographed today in my garden in west Wales. Two are growing in the greenhouse and the others outside. All are vegetable or fruit flowers. One is wild, the rest are cultivated.

No. 1 - This is the first year I have grown this - and it is not commonly grown in Wales


No. 2 - Batman losing his garment to a prickly fruit


No. 3 - And this one can be a wild prickly character


No. 4 - Umm, I love it stuffed


No. 5 - It goes with fish


No. 6 - Wise words, wise words


No.7 - Say cheese, it's the bonus flower!

Hope you enjoy this little game. If it goes well I will do another.

The contest is mainly just for fun but as a small reward for the winner I will upvote and resteem their next 5 posts - or their next 10 posts if they have upvoted and resteemed this contest posting.


If you want to know more about me read my intro post :
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@pennsif/hi-from-west-wales-in-the-uk-i-m-a-prepper-and-a-homesteader-and-before-that-i-used-to-be-a-penguin-catcher

Or my new daily dairy - Pennsif's Progress - The Days are Numbered :
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@pennsif/pennsif-s-progress-the-days-are-numbered-day-1000-the-polytunnel-is-in-the-house

I've also compiled a list of Preppers & Homesteaders on steemit that you might be interested in :
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@pennsif/preppers-and-homesteaders-on-steemit-the-updated-list-v2


Sort:  

This is a really random guess at these because I am not a flower expert but here goes nothing!

  1. Pansy 2. Zucchini 3. No Clue 4. Squash 5. Potato 6. No Clue 7. Cauliflower!

Hi @kiaraantonoviche, thank you for entering. You are in first place at the moment :-)

Thank you @kiaraantonoviche for entering. The correct answers are in my comment below. I have sent you a little gift for entering. I'm just learning how to do transfers for my next competition.

  1. Black Eyed Susan Vine.
  2. ? A type of rose?
  3. Squash bloom. Hard to say which kind as a lot of them look like this. Haha.
  4. Cauliflower!

I've got nothing else. Haha would be easier to see the plant as a whole. I really was trying hard to figure out #2. Hah.

Hi @farmstead, thanks for having a go. I think I may have made the photos a bit too UK-centric !

I can't wait to learn what #2 is!

Thank you @farmstead for entering. No. 2 is a cape gooseberry
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physalis_peruviana
The rest of the answers are in my comment below.

I have sent you a small gift for entering. I'm just learning how to do transfers for my next competition.

Thanks man! I appreciate the small gift! Gets me closer to that darn slider! Haha

You're welcome

Thank you @kiaraantonoviche and @farmstead for taking the time to have a go with the little competition. I think I may have made it a bit too tricky !!

The correct answers are :

  1. Sweet potato
  2. Cape gooseberry
  3. Bramble / Wild blackberry
  4. Marrow
  5. Potato
  6. Sage
  7. Cauliflower

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48