Awareness From The Ongoing Phishing Scam

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Good morning my fellow steemians.

Thank you @simplymike for having this beneficial contest and here is the link for those who want to learned about it.
https://steemit.com/contest/@simplymike/20sbd-contest-protect-people-from-the-ongoing-phishing-scam

People are so stupid from taking the earnings of some people in steemit.This is the reason why I encourage myself to join this contest to give awareness from the fake followers who just wanted to spy your wallet.There are lot of victims we knew lately and one of the victim was my friend @cinderz who recover it after a couple of days.
20180415_223812.jpg

  • For the newbie,I would like to to tell you what is phishing

*Phishing is a way of stealing an important hidden information of a certain usernames password and the detail of some credit card to get the money pretending to be
your followers and upvoters.So newbie I am reminding you to give extra care for your account.

When my friend @cinderz was hacked,it gave us lesson to learned.I remember those day when she won a huge amount of 100sbd from a writing contest of @dobartim that made her triggered with a hacker.Everytime my friend posted her blog hacker was following her and I was commeting it too.

Hacker was successful in stealing her hard earning valuables 5 SBD but the 102 SBD was bei g returned to my friend after the retrieval.Yes hacker had already transfered to blocktrade the biggest amount but because my friend put it to her savings,hacker must wait 3more days to successfully transfer to his wallet.It was a blessing in disguised that the day she was hacked,our mentor @ediah adviced her to put her big amount to savings.

Credit to our witness @guiltyparties it is by chance today to applaud and extend my gratitude for a superman move he rendered.He abled to retrieved my friend's account and the 102 sbd successfully.

  • Some tips for your account safety and avoid victimized from phishing

Use posting key not the active key because my friend used her active key on that time before she was hack.

Must read FAQ

Signing in steem.chat where you can access the witness

Signing in discord.

Do mot be afraid or shy in asking assistance from other steemians

Do mot give your password to 3rd party unless it is related to steemit to this platform like busy.org,steem auto steem connect. take note: there are sight that is not legitimate.You can determine it by the original color.

Be well informed and take extra pre caution in handling our account and post

If you love steemit,make it as one of your valuable asset to keep it in safety.

Do not open a link or click the link commented by a certain person with lower reputation of 25.They might be a hacker.

When you see someone commented that so fishy try to tell it to any senior/pioneer members before reporting and flagging.He might be not a hacker at all

When you see a fishy comment/link,inform the author that someone is in the comment section

Because human error sometimes can not be avoided,when you accidentally clicked the phishing link, please be guided to contact @guiltyparties @drakos @arcange and @timcliff.These are the witness that could help us..Dont be afraid with the whale,swim witb te whale eventhough we are still plankton.Through signing in #steemchat you can gain access to them and write direct message. (DM).

Try to read sometimes what is the do's and dont in steemit.

Those are the only things that I could share for today and I hope you will be guided to the best way to avoid those cuprits following us in our comment section that is called phishing

When culprits render phishing link to our post let us fished him with the fishing net so they could not swim anymore

We can also ask immediately contact @ankarlie for assistance .

If you lost your password not related to phishing (not stolen by hacker),100% we can not retrieve our account password just like me.My first account was lost because of erroneous copy pasting while my phone was overheated but my reason was not accepted since it is by law in steemit.I had been communicating @guiltyparties and @drakos through steemchat but they had nothing to help but offer new account as I wished but I did not accept it since @surpassinggoogle had quickly took over his kindness giving me a new account here @olivia08 and I said goodbye to @deevi my old account.

God bless steemians and good luck.

This is my entry Sir @simplymike

""No one is above the law and ignorance on it excuses no one""

Vote @steemgigs as witness
@surpassinggoogle as proxy

Support @teardrops smt token
@steemsecrets

TAKE STEEMIT TO THE MOON

Loving you,
@olivia08
DQmXdHUUhVjmsEa9jd62rBGgYTmmHfet15CjLYWJG25wKth.gif

received_1493892964073315.jpegFB_IMG_1520339959611.jpgreceived_1904414459577800.gif

Sort:  

Its a pity your friend was hacked, and the fact that you have made it a point of duty to stop phishing is great... Thank you @olivia08 for this very educative and must read post.

You are welcome and thank you for dropping by Sir

Thanks for your post, @olivia08
It looks like your friend was really lucky she had put the money in her savings account.

I have just a little remark: you say : “ do not open a link in a comment that was posted by someone with a reputation of 25 or below”
If the phishing link hasn’t been detected yet, it can be a person with any reputation. Always check a link in comments to see whether it redirects you to a known site. Be sure to check the URL of the site, because the difference might be very small.
If you are logged in to SteemIt and you click a link that sends you to a site that resembles SteemIt, but asks you to log in again: run away.

Thanks for helping me spread the word!

Copy Sir,,,@simplymike,,i just follow what other said,I am afraid if i will be automatically hacked when I open the link,so the good thing is to click the link and check but when they directed me to go to another sight,that will be the time that I will not follow his instruction.Is that correct Sir? @simplymike..
Thank you for your correction and now I know more information.I have no literacy about computer thats why I am really hesitant tl open any link since phishing rarely visible every time I post.This is a very good contest that gjve us more knowledge..So much appreciated.

If you’re using a computer you van see where a link redirects to by just hovering over it (without clicking). When you hover over it, the URL will show in the left bottom corner of your screen.
On mobile, you just tab en hold: a window will pop up, showing you the full URL

Thank you for your concern..So much appreciated that while Im joining this to share my experienced it happened that I leared it from you.I am48yrs old during my school days we have no computer that why every move that I will make I want it to be sure to ovoid that culprits phishing link.

You’re never too old to learn new tricks ;0)

Yes,this is the best thing happened to me in steemit the process of learning not just for earning.I dont have any idea of making a blog but Thank to God,I learned a lot.

I was a frustrated educator a frustrated photographer but how the wonder of God brought me to this platform with awesome community like you,,Im a Filipina a maid

Who is willing to teach meyou are not the only one from the start.

You are so awesome person,you let me learn more.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by olivia08 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60868.40
ETH 2377.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64