What's your favorite Kindle Short? 5 SBI contest

in #contest5 years ago

Screenshot 2019-04-26 at 2.43.23 PM.png

Have you ever read a Kindle Short Read? They're Kindle books, but generally quick reads of two hours or less. They're all the rage for writers and readers these days.

Naturally, I want to write one. Well, I have written one, it's been through a beta review and now I'm fixing it up for publishing. My goal is to have it published before the end of May. Here's a look at the draft cover (changes are happening):

Final cover.png

It's a fun space opera (never thought of it like that but that's what one beta reviewer called it so I'm going with it) presented in small episodes - short reads of about 90 minutes each.

If you want to see my book when it comes out, click here and fill out the form to be notified when it goes live.

The Contest!

I've read a bunch of Kindle shorts in the Science Fiction category since that's what I'm writing. I have to say that they are all pretty much awful. Except for a few by already established authors, I never made it past chapter one of any of them (paid or free).

So I want to know if you've found ones that you liked and enjoyed so I can read them too!

Rules:

  1. Comment your thoughts on the science fiction Kindle short reads you've read and tell me the names of the good ones.
  2. If you haven't read any science fiction ones, tell me about any fiction short reads you've read, what was good and what wasn't so good.
  3. If you haven't read any Kindle shorts, tell you what you think about the idea of these little books. Do you think they're a good idea, and would you read one or do you prefer longer stories?

My favorite answer gets 5 SBI.

Freewritehouse

beta reg banner.png


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest


SM
Affliate Link

Kindle photo: Photo by Maarten van den Heuvel on Unsplash
All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

I didn't read any yet, because I do have a Kindle device. Now I saw that I can download it to use when I'm in a public transport, because they are fast. I also saw one that I think I will like, it's Race to Refuge.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haven't read one yet. Probably won't. I like having the book in my hands.

Hi, @ntowl!

You just got a 1.18% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I'm a old person, prefer real books also

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @ntowl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.930 which ranks you at #11301 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 583 places in the last three days (old rank 11884).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 205 contributions, your post is ranked at #101.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I must say I haven't read any of the science fiction Kindle short reads but I do remember when they started being very popular in the children's section for bedtime stories with everybody wanting to get in on the action by writing their own children's stories as for me I would prefer to read a longer story so I can get myself lost in it, but on the rare occasion you can find a short story that hangs you on every word which can be a very satisfying read @ntowl.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60