You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Laugh at yourself:contest / Rire de soi: concours (ENG/FR)

in #contest6 years ago

One of my biggest insecurities growing up was always my eyes. I have a slight lazy eye and with having asian genetics, I was envious of those who had big round eyes. When I was in high school, my friends gave me the nickname chinky chai. Being older now I wouldn't really stand for the racist connotation, but when I was younger I would just take it on and laugh at the jokes because it was the only way I could deal with it. One of the biggest things that helped me accept that part of my body was when I started travelling. I spent nearly a year away from home. I found a new level of happiness and confidence and it radiated out. One of the best compliments I use to receive from people I meet on the road was that I would always smile with my whole face. My eyes would get so small but my smile would get so big. I never valued it before but when I found this joy in myself it became something I grew to love.

2AAA1281-7BBD-43C7-AD9C-1855186A8521.JPG

Sort:  

And you really do have a very beautiful smile that just made my day 😍, thanks for participating and sharing your story @neeqi, it really means a lot 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97