You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 100% SBD Give-Away 0023. Prize pool estimated at 10 SBD and growing (Over 72 SBD given away already!)

in #contest7 years ago

Entry guess :616

I wish I had something more to contribute. There are so many people actually contributing decent stuff to this article which is good to see. Some pretty decent art, of varying types. Almost something for everyone :p

Anyone learning how to speak German? And anyone know any other good tools apart duolingo and memrise. I was recommended the hello talk app but that's just like a whole new social community to try and join. Anyone got any experience with it or something? Let me know of its worth investing time into it.

Sort:  

I spoke a broken German as a child and forgot most of what I did know. I just don't use it at all, so I'm losing it. As for software for learning German... sorry, I have no idea. I heard Rosetta Stone was supposed to be good for learning languages in general... they have all sorts of language packs. I had one years ago and I don't even recall which language it was for. The Ex bought it for the children and they didn't use it so later sold it for $1 at a garage sale.

If you can already speak some German, why not try interacting with the Germans on here and learn by using it? I would think that if you ask nicely, they wouldn't mind laughing correcting your mistakes.

Yeah I'm sure they would get a good laugh alright. I hope some day to move there. I'd also like to live some day in Canada. It's the only country I could ever see myself living in in the western hemisphere. I'd go on holidays in plenty of places in the Americas but Canada was the only place I think living and working there wouldn't be so bad

I have a friend in Germany. He said it got pretty bad there lately.
Here in Canada is still pretty good if you can find a decent job. Taxes are high and you don't get much for all that tax. But I still prefer it here compared to other places I've seen.

Sure don't you guys get free health care? Ireland has a lot of different taxes that go entirely to a single city while the rest of the country hasn't really developed much in like the past 10 years.

There is a rising amount of homeless refugees in our country. There are plenty of abandoned buildings that they could be put in but these buildings are still private property and are in desperate need of renovation. So not only would the only available spaces be unsuitable for them to live in, it would be illegal for them to be in them. These buildings are not in use and have been so for several years

Wow, seems like such a waste leaving buildings empty.

Health care is not exactly free here. We pay into mandatory health insurance that pays for some stuff. Then we have private insurance that pays for other stuff, or you pay when you use it. What is free is hospitalization. If you never need to go to the hospital, you don't get to use that 'free healthcare'. We also get to visit our family practitioners (doctors) for free. Any drugs they prescribe are NOT free. Dental and eye care is NOT free. Alternative medicine is NOT free. Maintaining health by getting your teeth, eyes checked is not considered healthcare I guess. Neither is acupuncture or any other holistic or alternative medicine considered healthcare. The only healthcare considered worthy is getting prescribed pharma or surgery I guess. To me that's not healthcare but rather sick-care. It seems they are not interested in keeping people healthy, but rather in treating them after they become ill. It's better than nothing, but could sure use improvement.

I don't think any government endorses alternative or holistic medicine. I do like your distinction between sick care and health care, makes perfect sense. Ireland only has sick care. Seeing your doctor is €50 euros gone and they usually tell you to come back of it gets worse

The 1 improvement I've seen over my lifetime is that now your medical insurance extended care can cover treatments by holistic doctors up to a limited number of visits per year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73