Contest - Critical Thinking - Visual Recognition (Part 1) - 2 April, 2018

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Task

Dear critical thinkers,

Please read the passage below and give the best possible answer from the 6 options in this form.

The passage

Human brain is very unique. One important function of it is to store and retrieve memories. This is called visual recognition. The process is as follows: Human eye, when views an object, triggers neural activity in the brain which forms an image in the memory system of the brain. This, as a consequence, establishes internal representation of the object that is viewed. When the object is confronted again, the brain matches it with the already-stored internal representation of it, and recognizes it immediately. The question of whether this process is a parallel process or a serial one remains to be addressed. Put differently, it is not yet known if the process of visual recognition is a one-step (parallel) process, or a step-by-step (serial) process. Different psychologists put forward different explanations. For example, Gestalt psychologists suggest that visual recognition is a parallel process. An object, when confronted, is matched with the already-stored image of it in one step and so it is recognized. Put it in different way, the brain does not analyze the different features of the object; rather, it recognizes the object as a whole. 

Based on Gestalt psychology’s suppositions about visual recognition, what do you perceive or think when see the image below?

  1. The panda is black
  2. The panda is black and white
  3. This is panda
  4. Panda is walking
  5. The eyes and ears of the panda are not well-drawn
  6. The image of the panda needs to be completed

Rules

  • Upvote this post
  • Use this form to record your answer.
  • Write your Steemit username (without @) in the field "Enter your name" as shown here
  • Please make sure to write your Steemit username correctly, otherwise you will not receive the reward.
  • Please DO NOT post your answer as a comment below, otherwise you will disqualify.

Reward

  • SBD generated from this post will be equally distributed among those who give the correct answer while following all the rules.

Purpose of these contests

Read here

Supporters

There are some awesome Steemians who are supporting these contests in the form of their upvotes:

@dante31 @ewuoso @thatdamiguy @saimegh @emrebeyler @ghulammujtaba

There are two awesome witnesses who are supporting in the form of SBD and upvote:

@mahdiyari sends 0.5 SBD / day which is used to reward the winners in different contests.

@emrebeyler is giving upvote support.

If you want to support these contests, you can follow @monajam through Steemvoter (Create a rule and follow 'monajam') or SteemAuto (Click on fanbase and follow 'monajam'). 

Let me know so I can include your name in the list of the supporters.

Vote for Witness

As mentioned above, @mahdiyari and @emrebeyler are supporting these contests, so please show your love and support to them by giving them your witness vote.

Here is how you can do this:

Click here, scroll down and enter the following two Steemit IDs in the empty field 

  • mahdiyari
  • emrebeyler

and click on "Vote", as shown below

Do you want to earn daily SBD?

Then visit @sbd.giveaway

Do you want your content to be upvoted?

Then join the curation trail of @steemrepair. For more information, get in touch on their discord channel.

Sort:  

Nice informative post

A bit tricky

Yes :) :)
I saw different people gave different answers. It's interesting.

I enjoy playing your games. The prizes are bit small.

I hope I will get support from someone, and then the prize will be bigger; all depends on if I get support. Now, I am getting only 0.5 SBD per day, and I am paying from my own.

More than 1 option is correct, I submitted what i feel best :)

Awesome!
But 1 option is the most suitable, although all of them can be 'true'

This is fun. But I'll need an explanation if my answer is incorrect.

I will explain by the end of this contest. Remind me then :)

How can there be an incorrect answer if the question is what I perceive or think I see? Unless id lie in the answer that is?

There is no incorrect answer; for example, this cannot be incorrect "the panda is black"
So all answers are 'true, but there is one best answer, which you can know if you know what Gestalt Psychology is all about.

I was commenting on the comment by @reonlouw you answered to.
I think though that the term best is a relative term as well
As in best by what criteria, by whom, for what purpose?
Sorry I think im starting to split hairs here. Happens to me often whenever I try quiting smoking :) hope you dont take it the wrong way.

Seriously I'm lost..they all seem like the correct answers to me.

Can't I just pick all? 😂😂😂

Yes, you can :P

THIs is very interesting. I have voted in my answer and i will be waiting what the correct answer is. Hoping i get it correct.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52