What I love about contests on Steemit

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Enter a Contest!


If you're already one of my followers then you probably know that every single week I enter a contest that is all about drinking beer called #BeerSaturday.

The Beer Saturday contest is one of my favourite things to do on Steemit, and not just because it gives me an excuse to try a new beer every week.

Source

Contests have historically been one of the main things that I've participated in on Steemit however in recent months I haven't entered as many as I once did. And it's not because I stopped enjoying them, it's because I re-entered my comfort zone with my writing here on Steemit.

Contests aren't just about competing to win something


What I've discovered with contests on Steemit is that they have helped me grow as a Steemit user in a number of ways.

I've entered a large number of contests over the past few months. Most of them writing contests. And I've been incredibly pleased to win a few of them as well. What I've discovered through entering these contests is that I've been able to:

  • Greatly improve my writing
  • Take myself out of my comfort zone by writing about challenging or confronting topics
  • Win Steem and SBD!

And I was reminded of one of the most rewarding aspects of contests by someone who is running a contest here on Steemit right now. The contest is now in the submission review stage so sadly you've missed the boat if you were keen to submit an entry.

Below is part of @crypto.piotr's reply to one of my comments in his contest update post:

My idea is to use contest not so much as a way of increasing competition but as a way of supporting each other within community. As a way of getting to know other valuable people from this industry.

"Contests are a way of supporting each other."


And he couldn't be more spot on. The people who enter contests are often the people who are heavily engaged and active on the Steemit platform. So by entering contests we're getting to meet and engage with other Steemit users who are heavily engaged in this platform. And by getting to know each other and continuing to engage with each other, we're able to support one and other long after the contest has come to a close.

Source

I've definitely found this with the weekly Beer Saturday competition. I chat with the guys from that little community almost every day. And I still speak with many people from the other writing contests that I entered back when I was new to the lovely beast that is Steemit.

Go find a contest that excites you!


There are so many contests being held on Steemit every day. Go find one and enter it! You'll find it to be rewarding and exciting and you'll probably learn a thing or two.

And more importantly, you'll meet a whole new bunch of people on Steemit who you never knew existed before.

And if there isn't a contest being run that you want to be involved in? How about creating one?

Don't have a prize to give away as part of your contest? Ask me for a donation! I'm not kidding, I'll help you if you want to run a contest of your own.

Get out there guys, the Steemit world is bigger than you think.

Sort:  

Hola @mazzle, espero se encuentre bien, tenemos algo en común me encantan los concursos, y sí me gustaría hacer uno propia, tengo muchas ideas, sin embargo quiero crecer en esta comunidad para poder tener yo misma esos recursos para hacer los concursos, si rebisa mi blog y puede darme algún consejo o sugerencias le estaría muy agradecida. Un gran saludo

Definitely take the time to grow your account a little more before creating your own competition. Enter as many as you can so you can see how best to run and judge your own.

Thanks for your comment! :)

Thanks to you for your suggestions, we continue to see ourselves on this long road @mazzle

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hehehe Great Post...Must upvote

Since you replied within 32 seconds of my post going live I'll assume you didn't actually read my post. So you're aware, comments like this are viewed as spam and will be flagged. This will harm your reputation and future success on Steemit.

Noted.. I will take care of this next time. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44