You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dead Poems Society Production, Round 4, Contest and Community Building

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the invite, @prydefoltz (and for my share ☻). This time I've brought a sonnet for your #deadpoems project:

"Sweet Basil"

I'll be back for commenting on the other poems ASAP ☻

Sort:  

I love basil. I also love the imagery of motherhood in this poem. Sweet!

Thank you, @firststeps ♥; that's what motherhood be like: sweet; but children grow up.

The ere bright buds are now shadowy pits
and doze in muddy beds a quite brief sleep,
before they come to be the slender ladies
which are to mourn her own silvery babies

I feel so privileged to have read that, Marlyn:) Fabulous work:)

That's my favorite stanza to read aloud ☻ Thanks, @prydefoltz

This is an organic poem full of life, multiplying generations and, consequently, motherhood. So pleasant and full of suggestions of the constant movement of light, color, shapes and life. Excellent work, dear @marlyncabrera.

Thank you, @zeleira ♥ As always, you're deep (not only when writing but also when reading).

An homage to basil… Well, I love basil and your poem! (I commented on your original post too)

Thank you, @momzillanc ♥ I'm gonna check immediately ☻

The ere bright buds are now shadowy pits
and doze in muddy beds a quite brief sleep...

The tone in those two lines reminded me of a lullaby. The lyric subject, as @firststeps has said, points to the "imagery of motherhood" and seems to sing its evolving circle in a lullaby to the Bassil's sprouts "before they come to be the slender ladies/ which are to mourn her own silvery babies". Really beautiful indeed, gives you a mother-daugther bonding feeling. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51