#8 Minnowhelper Writing Contest!!!! "I LIFE FOR MYSELF"

in #contest6 years ago

One afternoon I received a story that changed my life completely ... I was sleeping in my bed when suddenly my mom comes to the room to wake me up abruptly, she told me that my dad had an accident and that he is in the hospital. When we arrived at the hospital, they gave us the bad news that my father died.

They were the worst years of my life, I was barely 12 years old when that happened and lasted 3 years of my life in depression, I got low self-esteem, I became antisocial and I just stopped being myself.

At school I lost many friends, I lowered my grades, I stopped going out, I dressed strange and I gave a lot of importance to what they said about me. I felt weak, like a person who could not do anything on his own; I felt obliged to obey orders from others.

One night, while I was sleeping, I had a strange dream, I dreamed about my dad, I was dreaming that he was in classes and that he was my teacher, we were in psychology class and he taught us the difference between "living for others and living for you".

As soon as he awakens from the dream he perfectly remembers everything he said, he felt that the class was just for me and that he was sending me a message to change my life and see it from another perspective.

I asked myself many simple questions on this topic, like ...
I dress for myself or for others to have a good opinion about me?
When I get good grades is it to feel proud of my work or for others to see how good I am?
If I cook rich is to savor it myself or for others to like it?
If I get ready for a party is it to feel beautiful or for others to look at me?

There are thousands of things that one does for others and not for oneself.
I spent weeks thinking about that and I took the decision to change my life, stop being sad, start socializing and so stop feeling bad.

I started to change physically, I bought new clothes and shoes and went to the beauty salon to look good. The next day at school as soon as I arrive I noticed that everyone was looking at me and asking different questions like who is that girl? it's new? Where would he have bought those clothes? And as I walked through the corridors and listened to what they said about me, I just thought about myself. I felt safe and the only opinion I took into account was mine.

Many people came to me and I even made new friends, as time passed my self-esteem grew and I started to mature as a person, because I started doing things for myself and not for others.

Some years passed, nowadays I am older, I am 25 years old and now I give talks about the constructive personality.

I tell to everyone my story from smile and I can't deny anyone the situation that happens to become who I really am.

Sort:  

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55