You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 36 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest - Prize 112.617 SBD

in #contest6 years ago

Photo on 6-18-18 at 11.18 PM.jpg

Just me and my cat and a box of herbal tea, NBD

Debating whether I should write about weed or if I should write about chamomile tea. Don’t have much to say about weed, so herbal tea it is.

Wherever I’ve lived, I’ve always reliably had a box of chamomile tea that I very gradually drink. Usually it takes me years to actually finish a box, but when I do drink it, it brings up very specific memories of childhood and home. Maybe it’s the rarity itself that does that; that those memories are tied to it because they are so few and far between and so specific. My mother used to give me chamomile tea and warm milk when I couldn’t sleep as a child. I’m skeptical that either really promotes sleep, but somehow, it always did the trick. (That being said, I just Googled it, and apparently there is some scientific reason that chamomile promotes sleep… I guess there’s some antioxidant in it. I stand corrected.) The smell of chamomile is absolutely lovely. I think I’ll actually make myself a pot right now to counteract the soda I just drank to manically write up a syllabus.

So I just wrote up this sample syllabus about writing itself. I want to teach a course about the epistemology of writing. Anyway, that’s unrelated to herbs.

More about herbs. I don’t really have more to say about herbs, I guess. I’m sorry, I’m just getting worse every day. I should bow out of this thing already just to spare you all. Or maybe tomorrow I’ll wake up and I’ll be brilliantly inspired to write another short story that I’ll gleefully read to my friends—look what I made in five minutes more-or-less! I suppose it’s worth sticking around just for one of those days to come again, even if it hasn’t in a few days. I should stop being so hard on myself.

Sort:  

Yes, stop being so hard on yourself! And, believe me when I say I've been feeling really similar with these writes, but still feels good to do one because it's gotten me into more of a creative roll in other areas--like I'm going to collaborate on a photo shoot this week and I've been making some collages.
I bet that your writing class will be great :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65765.48
ETH 2628.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66