You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 10 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest - Prize 60.789 SBD

in #contest6 years ago

This is my cat's favorite toy. It's a guitar string with cardboard on it. She's had it for like, five months, and it still makes her go apeshit every time. She kept trying to swat me in the face while I was doing this. The lengths we go to for these selfies, right?! Anyway, this is a true freewrite. I kinda like the premise but it's a five minute mess. :)

IMG_5797.jpg

Tripping on a wire, I fell face first into the mud. The other children laughed at me. I thought—what, you’ve never eaten shit before? Or at least, that’s what I wanted to think; it was pretty embarrassing. What I actually thought was something like, wow, I wish I could just roll over and die right now. Anyway, let’s go back to the start. We set up an enormous game of capture the flag with over 70 children, and it turned into utter chaos. Someone threw a firework into the mix, I heard, and another hid the flag where nobody could find it. Could you believe that? Also, what sadistic asshole sets up wires where tween kids can trip on them? This wasn’t just any game of capture the flag; this was a blood sport. Some kids opted to wear face paint just to really add to the aesthetic. I heard someone else brought super soakers and hid in the trees, recruiting others to ambush the enemy. Sometimes it was friendly fire; we weren’t exactly adhering to any one uniform (a terrible oversight on the planners’ part). I guess I didn’t get the memo that we were going full on Rambo with this. Maybe they wanted to believe they were in the Hunger Games, or they wanted to pretend to be in on the glory that our great grandparents experienced in World War II, when wars were still noble and hippies hadn’t been invented yet. That’s what 11-13 year old boys like to imagine themselves as, right? That’s the age where the realities of war haven’t quite set in and it’s still all just fun and games. Capture the flag is good for that sort of thing, I guess.

Sort:  

Great use of the prompt! What a game! I'd be scared.

Somehow as I read, I envisioned the entire game being played in the giant field behind my elementary school. There were trees/small woods on one side and I could see the super-soaker's lurking there!

Wow! This was all kinds of serious and a super fun read with history lesson tucked in!

What neighborhood did you hang out in? I'm thinking I wanna go visit. 👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56832.31
ETH 2344.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43