You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Welcome to @artgirl's After Easter Animal Contest!!!

in #contest7 years ago

I read @simplymike's beautiful cat story and decided that I had to include a story about our dogs, Max and Forte.

I used to have a dog named Max, and he was my best friend for 13 years. He was supposed to be a first generation Labradoodle; a cross between a Lab and a Poodle. The idea was the 'new' breed was supposed to be non-shedding, but Max unfortunately grew hair like a Poodle and shed like a Lab! When Brian, my husband, and I got together, he had a beautiful Blue Merle Collie named Forte, who was the King. Suffice it to say that the dogs had to sort out who was boss. One day we came home to furniture tipped over, plants in disarray, and the dogs laying together, peacefully on their bed. We had no idea what had happened but began to figure it out come feeding time.

As usual, I filled their bowls with food, and called them over. Max, being a Lab, was always the first to swallow his food whole, but this time, he sat down and simply stared at his food. I tried to entice him, but no go. Eventually, Forte slowly made his way over and began to eat. Only then, did Max do the same. In seconds Max was finished, but instead of licking his bowl clean, he left 3 little kibbles in there and I then watched Forte, finish his own, and then proceed to finish Max's as well. That became their pattern, and it was obvious to us that the overturned furniture was the two of them sorting out who was the alpha, and of course it was Forte!

Unfortunately, Forte died unexpectedly, and the first time I fed Max after Forte's demise, poor Max simply sat and stared at his food. It took some convincing, but he eventually ate, only to leave 3 little kibbles in his bowl, waiting for his buddy to come and finish it. I had to remove the remainder of his food so could relax after dinner. He was so confused and left food in his bowl for months afterwards.

Not to leave this on a sad note, Max was the dog who always got into trouble. Here is a picture of his face when he got caught, which was pretty regularly:

Yes, he smiled :)

...and @beeyou, this is how it's done lol

Sort:  

Oooh, that's interesting. Good thing no one saw them fighting over who's the boss of who. Lol. Happy you ended it on a good note or I will get sad too. Smiling Max had me laughing.

Thank you for joining! :D

We always wished we'd had a camera set up to witness it all haha And, I still turn to his smile whenever I need a good laugh!!

You got me laughing at the beginning and - of course - crying at the end. Gosh, I’m such a sissy when it comes to pets 🙄

Aww, you big baby! Just kidding, I cry a tv commercials about pets ;)

Lol. Same here :0)

haha Google the Budweiser Clydesdale commercials! You'll be sobbing ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62848.40
ETH 2467.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63