Lymmerik's Limerick Contest - Valentine Edition

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Lymmerik's Limerick Contest

Hello everyone! After a long absence of Lymmerik's Limerick Contest...It's BACK!

We've all heard the Limerick:

There once was a gal from Nantucket...right?

Okay, so let's put our fingers to the keyboard and write some original Limericks!

Limerick Contest.PNG

Divider.png

What is a Limerick?

A limerick is a humorous poem consisting of five lines. The first, second, and fifth lines must have seven to ten syllables while rhyming and having the same verbal rhythm. The third and fourth lines only have to have five to seven syllables, and have to rhyme with each other and have the same rhythm. A limerick can be on the raunchy side as well.

Divider.png

How Do I Write a Limerick?

The first line sets up the character(s) and setting of the poem so the reader knows right away who/what the story is about. Line and Rhyme. Only five lines long, limerick poems have an AABBA rhyme scheme, which means the first, second, and last lines rhyme while the third and fourth lines rhyme.

Divider.png

Where Does the Word Limerick Come From?

Limericks (1903) The origin of the term Limerick, as applied to a certain form of five-line stanza, seems to be as yet undiscovered. A statement was recently made that this stanza is so-called because it was invented by Edward Lear, and that he was born in Limerick, Ireland. William Shakespeare used the limerick's rhythm in Stephano's drinking song in The Tempest, as well as in Othello and King Lear. Yet it wasn't until the early 1700s that soldiers returning from the continent-wide War of the Spanish Succession brought the limerick form Ireland.

Divider.png

Link to a Limerick I Posted (Example)

Divider.png

This contest is open to all Steemians

Divider.png

The Prompt:

My Funny Valentine

Divider.png

The Rules


  • Write an original Limerick and post it with the first two tags being: #contest and #lymmerikslimericks.

  • Plus three other tags of your choice, (I suggest that poetry be one of them, but that is your call.) Here are the tags I chose: #contest #lymmerikslimericks #poetry #creativity #writing you can copy and paste them if you want. (contest lymmerikslimericks poetry creativity writing).

  • Your Limerick MUST be included in it's entirety in the comments below. You may include a link to your post in the comments as well.

  • UPVOTE this post.

  • RESTEEM this post (not required, but it helps get the word out!)

  • You may NOT use the word Nantucket.

  • You may edit your Limerick after posting until the deadline ends.

  • Entries must be posted and must be placed in the comments below no later than Midnight MST (Phoenix Arizona Time), Monday February 12, 2018.

  • That's it, simple rules! But following @Lymmerik is okay too!


Divider.png

The Prizes

There will be 3 prizes awarded.

1st Place - 5$ SBD

2nd Place - 3$ SBD

3rd Place - 2$ SBD


Divider.png

The Judging

  • All entries will be judged on the above outlined syllabic rhythmic cadence of your Limerick (See What is a Limerick, and How Do I Write A Limerick at the beginning of this post). Judging will also consist of your adherence to the prompt, and your wit. The limericks may be raunchy but fun.

  • I (@Lymmerik), will judge the entries. (Make me laugh!)

  • The winners will be announced and the Prizes awarded on Wednesday, February 14, 2018.


Lymmerik's Limmerik Contest CountdownTimer

clock-animated-gif-18.gif

Thank you for participating in my contest!

@Lymmerik

Lymmerik Atomic.png

Lymmerik-Particles1_1-(Converted) (1).gif

Sort:  

Oh no! I missed the deadline! I was putting it off, thinking the deadline was tomorrow. Whoopsy! I've got some V-Day limericks anyway :) Here's one:

Cupid must like wishful thinking,
Or else he's been shooting and drinking.
Some couples I see
Clearly weren't meant to be,
And there's Cupid, drunkenly winking.

@chrisroberts,
Great Limerick, sorry it didn't make it in by the deadline. Hope to see you in the next one!
@Lymmerik

My entry:


Bloody Valentine

Once seven men in Lincoln Park,
were greeted with a deadly spark,
down they went, to the ground,
bullets flying around,
their Valentine got bloody dark.

https://steemit.com/contest/@likedeeler/likedeeler-s-valentine-limerick

@likedeeler,
Thanks for the entry, I will be judging it tomorrow and awarding the prizes as well!
Thanks again,
@Lymmerik

On V-Day I gave her a cookie.
She smiled and called me her wookie.
A card and some wine --
What an evening devine!
And it ended with Netflix and nookie.

Thanks for running this contest! I also posted the entry here.

@vdux,
Thanks for the entry, I will be judging it tomorrow and awarding the prizes as well!
Thanks again,
@Lymmerik

Gladly. Hey, I'm about to start a contest of my own, got any tips?

https://mspsteem.com/contest/@vdux/new-contest-coming-soon

@vdux,
Yes, keep the rules simple and easy to follow. Let me know when you start it, I just may enter!
@Lymmerik

@vdux,
nice contest! I just entered it!
@Lymmerik

I confess that I thought you were fickle
So to see you come back has me tickled
For I do love to rhyme
In that odd limerick time
Some say I do it best when I'm pickled!

OK, not bad for off the cuff, c'mon! WELCOME BACK! (Just to be clear, that is my welcome back message, not a contest entry lol!)

@fishyculture,
Thank you so much for the welcome back Limerick!
Can't wait to see your Valentine Limerick!
@Lymmerik

Here's my entry:

This year's valentine falls on a Wednesday
And as a Catholic, it's compulsorily Ash Wednesday
Babe's acting all crass
For me, it's Mass
Or we stick to Champions League Matchday.

https://steemit.com/contest/@curtwriter/my-funny-valentine-lymmerik-s-limerick-contest-valentine-edition

@curtwriter,
Thanks for the entry, I will be judging it tomorrow and awarding the prizes as well!
Thanks again,
@Lymmerik

Ok, HERE is my entry, if this is OK. I am trying to reduce the number of posts per day that I make, so I am just doing this in the comments. If a seperate post is required, please let me know! Thanks!

Your smile to me is like sunshine
My heart is warmed knowing you're mine
Don't need flowers or cards,
Neither chocolates nor bards
To love you my funny Valentine!

@fishyculture,
Thanks for the entry, I will be judging it tomorrow and awarding the prizes as well!
Thanks again,
@Lymmerik

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #13. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest list I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

Thank you for encouraging the writing community with your contest.

Valentine, valentine no need to worry!
There's no need to be in such a big hurry.
I'll save you for later
in the refrigerator.
But first I should pick up some curry.

#contest #lymmerikslymmerik #writing #poetry

@authorfriendly,
Thanks for the entry, I will be judging it tomorrow and awarding the prizes as well!
Thanks again,
@Lymmerik

@vegflower,
Thanks for the entry, I will be judging it tomorrow and awarding the prizes as well! Please copy and paste your Limerick here as well.
Thanks again,
@Lymmerik

Would you be mine on valentine?
Please voice it out not with a sign
I just want to be sure
For punch is not for my jaw
from my vineyard i make you wine

To see the original post click here

@mychidera-eu,
Thanks for the entry, I will be judging it tomorrow and awarding the prizes as well!
Thanks again,
@Lymmerik

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66