My Entry For Lymmerik's Thanksgiving Limerick ConteststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest7 years ago




The above joke inspired me to the following limerick:



Vladimir once was quite smirky,
found Barack´s Thanksgiving quirky,
when asked about his dinner,
he answered like a winner:
“Finally I will have Turkey!“



The source of the joke lies in the tensions between Turkey and Russia because of their different interests in the war in Syria.
It took me a while to bring that one into limerick format, especially since I wanted to have "Turkey" at the end of the punchline and needed two rhyming words for it.
But I actually start to like those limerick contests, because the limerick really forces you to work on your style and wording, every word is important.
Another form I quite like is Haiku, so I take the opportunity here to share my favorite one with you, not my own but from the master himself. So beautiful!


Dewdrop, let me rinse
In your swift sweet water
The dark hands of life.

BASHO

Sort:  

let me be completely rude. Who is Basho?

Let me return the rudeness, from rudy to rudy.
What is Google? 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12