[HELP WANTED] - MAKE MY DREAM OF GOING TO STEEMFEST 2017 A REALITY #2

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Thank you @aggroed for the great opportunity to be at Steemfest 2017 in Lisbon. This is my entry post for the final round.


I wish every one of the contestants best of luck.



[A certain Challenge you feel needs to be addressed in the world] - Global Poverty



Photo Credit: pixabay.com


As an African living in Lagos, Nigeria; I know what it is like to be poor. Some moment ago, I read @oluwoleolaide's post (HAVE YOU GOTTEN SOMEONE OUT OF A HOPELESS SITUATION LATELY?).

There are stories like that where poor people couldn't afford or have access to basic human necessities such as proper health care, good and healthy foods, clean water and at some worst conditions shelter.

Many have died and have gone to their early grave because of their impoverished life. There are poor people on every continent of the world.

Here are 11 Facts About Global Poverty published on dosomething.org here https://www.dosomething.org/us/facts/11-facts-about-global-poverty


  1. Nearly 1/2 of the world’s population — more  than 3 billion people — live on less than $2.50 a day. More than 1.3  billion live in extreme poverty — less than $1.25 a day. 

  2. 1 billion children worldwide are living in poverty. According to UNICEF, 22,000 children die each day due to poverty. 

  3. 805 million people worldwide do not have  enough food to eat.   Food banks are especially important in providing food for people that  can’t afford it themselves. Run a food drive outside your local grocery  store so people in your community have enough to eat. Sign up for Supermarket Stakeout

  4. More than 750 million people lack adequate  access to clean drinking water. Diarrhea caused by inadequate drinking  water, sanitation, and hand hygiene kills an estimated 842,000 people  every year globally, or approximately 2,300 people per day. 

  5. In 2011, 165 million children under the age 5 were stunted (reduced rate of growth and development) due to chronic malnutrition. 

  6. Preventable diseases like diarrhea and  pneumonia take the lives of 2 million children a year who are too poor  to afford proper treatment. 

  7. As of 2013, 21.8 million children under 1  year of age worldwide had not received the three recommended doses of  vaccine against diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis.

  8. 1/4 of all humans live without electricity — approximately 1.6 billion people. 

  9. 80% of the world population lives on less than $10 a day.

  10. Oxfam estimates that it would take $60  billion annually to end extreme global poverty--that's less than 1/4 the  income of the top 100 richest billionaires. 

  11. The World Food Programme says, “The poor  are hungry and their hunger traps them in poverty.” Hunger is the number  one cause of death in the world, killing more than HIV/AIDS, malaria,  and tuberculosis combined. 


[A vision statement of what a better alternative would look like] - Can We Truly Defeat Poverty?



Yes, I believe poverty can be defeated. That doesn't mean everyone will get rich though.

With proper education, access to the internet most poor people's conditions can improve.

For example, with a basic read and write skill, anyone with Internet access can make a living creating and curating content on Steemit.

More of such innovation needs to be backed by the Government as it will improve the standard of living of their citizens.



The Mission Statement



Initiatives to get more people connected to the Internet in locations where people do not have access to Internet Services should be encouraged.

I have partnered with @jazes to start a Steemit and Altcoins trading seminars locally. I am also looking into a partnership with Airborne Wireless Network http://www.airbornewirelessnetwork.com/index.asp to get more Nigerians on the Internet.

I also started The Wealth Builder Team, an initiative that aims to help the youths in my country start their own legitimate Internet businesses. With this initiative, I am going to help more jobless youths put food on the table. You can learn more about the Wealth Builder Team at our official Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/TheWealthBuilderTeam




[A specific set of Goals you have while attending Steemfest] - My Major Goals



  1. As a network marketer, I understand to prosper on a network, you must build strong ties with people on the network. I am coming to Steemfest to network with other Steemians.

  2. I believe learning is continuous, I want to come to learn first hand from many Steemians that I admire a lot. Steemians like @stellabelle, @papa-pepper, @aggroed and host of others.

  3. I want to learn more about the future of Steemit and the Steem blockchain. As an entrepreneur, I will be investing into Steem apps in the future.



How you plan to achieve your goals and your mission



To achieve my goals of coming to Steemfest, I am good at relating with people, I plan to relate and have a conversation with as many people I can relate with. Learn a thing or two from those I relate with.

To achieve my mission, I will run local seminars about Steemit and see how people can get connected to the Internet so they can improve their impoverished life.



Please provide a simple chart of your refined budget



As stated in my last post

I have been saving towards going to Steemfest.

I will need around $1,500 to buy a return ticket with a local airline (the agent told me it is always cheaper when you book in advance, that could save me another $350).

I will take care of my sightseeing, lodging, and feeding from my own saved money.



Guys, I need your UPVOTE to win this contest. Please upvote and resteem, I will be forever grateful to your help. THANK YOU and STAY BLESSED!

Sort:  

You have a very nice vission and just like you I have a vission to help sick children at hospital even with thier basic needs only.I know what it feels so difficult with the expencess at the hospital when my son was confined before.Only steemit is my hope to fulfill my vission so I need to work very very hard here at steemit.

Upped. What you're doing is admirable. It's people like you that make this world a better place. Wish you all the best! See you at SteemFest 2017, if I manage to make it. :)

Thank you, I will look forward to seeing you at the SteemFest. I will be there.

Hej Mr. Competitor, we seem to steer in the same direction. Please check my post as well. Maybe we can do something together in the future.

Hi, @lucashunter I wish you the very best in your quest. I believe together we can make the world a better place with our collective effort.
Upvoted and resteemed.

Cheers

Thank you @epikcoin for the best wishes. Yes we can make the world a better place and reduce the much poverty that the world struggles with. The internet can be a major instrument in reducing poverty world wide, along with cryptos. We should be happy we are part of the early adopters.

Thanks so much @lucashunter for the giveaway - https://steemit.com/contest/@lucashunter/usd20-sd-giveaway-2-five-winners-get-usd4-each

Wish you the best in this goal to go to Steemfest in Lisbon!
Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you @luvabi, and congratulations on been one of the winners of the giveaway. Another is coming soon. Thank you

I need the same and it will be really helpfull!

You can have the same if @aggroed decides to run another contest after this. I am not really sure about that though. Thank you for your support.

Okey let me know if it happens!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lucashunter from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66552.34
ETH 3451.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65