INTERACTIVE BATTLE GAME - EXPERIMENTAL TOURNAMENT - PAID IN STEEM

in #contest7 years ago

Hi everyone,

Today I'm asking the Steemit community for a little help.

I've never run a Tournament or anything like this before, but figured why not put myself out there and try an experiment.

I figured it needs to be something fun and original where hopefully people don't get too uptight or upset if I mess it up as host, so if your that kind of person perhaps this isn't the right comp for you.

I really don't have any experience, even participating in a Tournament & I have limited background in modern online games, but I figure this is a really good thing, i.e. it means it's truly greenfields and having done no research myself, we can really make it something brave, new and fun - basically something no-one has ever seen before and exclusive to Steemit :)

So Lets get started...Like all competitions/games, there needs to be some basic boundaries/rules, so I'm going to make a couple of quick guidelines to steer us (the basic premise, is it will be based on the interactive battle series) I've been running these comps on steemit, they are easy to spot and play if you want to check me out @lordnigel 

Heres a few guidelines/rules I'm thinking about for the experimental tournament: 

*You must create a player, during the enrollment/registration post. It will be easy, you simply comment you would like to play and give a unique player name, for instance.. you could say your a  Bad Tempered Elvish Fish Monger, Short Snout Armadillo Soldier or Dragon spear flying chick!. You can be as inventive as you want and include a picture, you can even hand draw and enter your pic profile for extra fun :)

Example player pic - Dragon spear flying chick

* Next, we are going to have some battle rounds, the victors get a small prize, split evenly as normal (just like the interactive battle games so far), everyone can continue to the next round, but at the end of say...3 rounds, I will add up/pick-out those key people whom won the most rounds and invite them to enter into the champion rounds.

*The champion rounds, will literally be me rolling a dice to see who wins. People can observe and pay respect by upvoting the competitors (dare I say gladiators) as they comment on how they will attack each other.  For these final rounds, I will randomly put players against each other. I'm thinking the mechanics might be, roll a dice, multiple the number by the number of upvotes for the competitors/gladiators comments and I'll post the winner, detailing the score and how it was calculated randomly and fairly..something like this. It's not a popularity contest, but I will use something like the number of upvotes in the calculation thus allowing people to interactive and influence the outcome a little, even if they didn't make it to the championships.

*There will be just 2 rounds in the champion play off, where players will fight each other, those who miss out/lose in the 1st round, will share in the 3rd place prize, those who lose in the 2nd and final round, will share in the 2nd place prize and those who win in the 2nd round, will share in the 1st place prize. 

*Any champion prize winners will be issued special limited addition trophy's. If people get say 2 trophy's they can be traded in at a future tournament for a 'bonus hit point'. Basically I'll add another 1 to your dice roll, thus making it harder to De-throne the champ...Will think a bit more, but this is to reward the champions and give people something to try to beat in future tournaments.

And that's it...

I really want people whom feel they are not Geek enough, to release the inner geek and play. Get out of your comfort zone and geek it up! with your geek Steemian friends, haha

I'd really like to use the post to gather ideas/thoughts/comment and finalize the experimental tournament plans. 

Does this sound like a good idea for this first experimental tournament? Are there any points above you would change? or extra points I should consider? please comment on this post and I'll try to include/change where possible

How else can you help?

Please Upvote this post with as much power as you can muster. 100% of Steem raised for this post will be used for prize money/Steem for 3rd, 2nd and 1st prizes, when we run the experimental tournament shortly.

Please tell people about this tournament and watch out for the official launch shortly; resteeming this post would be greatly appreciated.

Sort:  

Wow! the prize money is coming in, thanks to those who Upvote and even ..direct donations (ready to go reward), very generous!.

It's all being recorded in a spreadsheet, all SBD raised will be recorded, sold and converted to Steem, ready for appropriate issue to the champions of the tournament.

If your just reading this post now, please upvote heavily, the higher the prize the more interesting.

Cheers

upvoted already

Hmm... I'd be cautious about using multipliers or even whole +1 bonuses based on upvotes received because that could get out of hand really quickly. I'll give you some hypothetical examples:

  • 20-sided die with upvote multiplier: Born Loser rolls a 1 and Humbaba rolls a 20. Born Loser receives a single upvote for his comment while Humbaba is completely ignored by the Steemian population. Born Loser wins by a total score of 1-0 (his 1 x 1 beats Humbaba's 20 x 0).
  • 6-sided die with +1 upvote: Born Loser rolls a 1 and Humbaba rolls a 6. Born Loser receives 5 upvotes, Humbaba gets 1 flag. Will the flag count as -1 and result in a 6-5 victory for Born Loser, or does this battle end in a 6-6 double K.O.?
  • 12-sided die with a huge serving of drama (how you calculate the bonus doesn't matter here): Born Loser rolls a 4, Humbaba rolls a 8. One of the two then calls in a voting trail to boost their total. The other does the same, then they both accuse each other of cheating, then flame wars and flag wars break out. How will you sort this all out and calculate accurate totals for both of them?

If upvotes are going to be allowed to influence the results, it would have to be in a incremental/fractional way, probably something along the order of +0.1 (or even less) to roll or to multiplier (the multiplier needs to start at a base value of 1 for obvious reasons). I think the better way would be to allow the eliminated players to reply to the comments of those in the champions' rounds and indicate whose attack they think is more effective in a given matchup, then award a bonus based on the margin of victory in the "survey".

I hope that all makes sense. I'll make new comments if I can think up of any other ideas or concerns.

Ok so I'm not much of a gamer, but found this old game board

Comes with 2 X 6-sided die I can use. So that's one thing, I at least have two standard dice to use :)

My current thinking is the first 3 games, will be same as usual, no dice, just my choice based on what I reacon (keeping it casual as this could quickly get out of hand and I want this to be fun).
Everyone who knows me or has played so far will know I'm 'just and fair' and will already have chosen the victor before posting. Ultimately it's a 50/50 chance for all 3 rounds even if you don't want to think too much about it.

As for the Champion rounds, I'm leaning towards just a single 6-sided, dual dice roll (and I'm happy to make a short film with anime Gif to post the with result). In the end, no matter which way you cut it, I need to make a call, unless we have a Steem Random number generator or something?...perhaps in a future tournament. I just want to keep it simple for now and If I'm the only one involved at least I can be sure no cheating.

At this stage I don't think we will get hundreds of players, more like a dozen or something based on previous interactive battle games, but still the mechanism needs to stand up if we get more.

Your words are wise, I don't want to get it nasty and have people upvoting or even flagging each other.

I think I'd rather just take that possibility away altogether for this first friendly tournament. I'm thinking what I could do is give one person an extra 1 point each round, based on their bad arse description on how they decided and destroyed the enemy in the round. For instance:
*Player one says, I attack born loser with a swift kick to the crutch.
*Player two says, I attack born loser with a quick eye poke, which he won't see coming as he is always looking around, then smack to the face, followed by swift kick up the butt to finish him.

IF born loser was the right one to attack, I might also award "player two" a +1 to their champion round roll for such a great attack, clearly demonstrating their warriors powers. It's unlikely this +1 will make a huge difference when they reach champion rounds, but if it's the same player for all 3 rounds, they could enter the championship with an already +3 to what ever I roll for them.

Whatever I use, it can't be complicated (as I want some very non geek players in)and I want to promote participation and share rewards to as many steemians as possible.

I approve of this ruleset. Let's see if the other regulars in your interactive battles agree.

Thanks yep, agreed the multiplier will need to be low for the Upvote...was kindda thinking like you wrote, i.e. +.1, perhaps we add that an eliminated player bonus margin..Will also keep thinking, feel free to post more thoughts, very helpful :)

You are awesome!! Consider the economics of the game carefully as this matters a lot. How can we incentivize people to vote even on the last rounds... :)

Cheers - not possible without your idea :). - Good advice re economics, at the moment still thinking keep it simple is best.

In terms of last round, I think if we do it this way (raise funds now with this post) we won't need to incentivize upvotes for the last rounds, still... having some upvote there could be useful..hmmn

.. So, the plan at the moment is people will upvote as normal for the first 3 rounds (this will fund those rounds - and the standard 50% will go to those who guess right, split evenly).

In the last rounds they don't need to upvote as the money raised from this post will fully fund it, but I'm sure people will and If they do, so what I'll do is bank 50% of upvotes made during the last rounds, to be added to the prize for the next tournament (giving it a boost and hopefully incentive for people to come back and do it all again :)

I've also had a generous direct donation of 20 Steem; which will be added to the last rounds prizes (making the last round prizes nice). I also have some trophy's to hand out to the champs, which can be redeemed for a +1 for the next tournament and guaranteed entry into the champ rounds again, hopefully providing even more incentive to continue. If necessary we can do another 'fund raising post' like this, but I think even if it's just a few $ worth of steem and people are having fun they will come back.

Pending other ideas coming forward, I'll post a tournament entry post soon (formally commencing the tournament and detailing the rules) and encourage people to enroll and have fun and get started..

Then fingers crossed...

Perfect! I think that is actually a good strategy. I hope that a lot of people come on board :)

This looks like fun although I am not so sure about the mechanics of how it works.

It will be kept really simple for this first tournament - even though it seems like allot of instruction/rules, it really isn't hard. Enrol, comment which enemy to attack for 3 posts...and then just watch and have fun. i.e.it will be simple and fun. Cheers

So I've kicked it off, this post will keep collecting prize money, but I figured the best way to learn is just go for it...

Can enrol here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@lordnigel/interactive-battle-tournament-enrol-for-the-bestest-easy-way-to-win-steem

Thanks everyone, 9.882 Steem was raised, taking the total prize for the championship rounds to 29.882 Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58