You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do you learn foreign languages (or why don't you)? Share your unique experience and take part in a contest

in #contest7 years ago

French, Spanish, Italian and one of our local language Igbo.
I remember traveling to Lome, Togo for an assignment and there I was trying to get practical with people. U needed to be there. I was shunned like I was speaking a forbidden language only those at the hotel were receptive and encouraged that the more I speak, the more I get fluent.
On why I choose to learn them, I do not want to have language issues when I need to transact business. And u know there's always this sense of belonging when u speak the native language of where ever you find yourself. You are likely to be at advantage as you will regarded as one of them.
If I succeed in learning these, I will proceed to learn Chinese... 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59