Why do you learn foreign languages (or why don't you)? Share your unique experience and take part in a contest

in #contest6 years ago

Did you ever learn a foreign language? Then read the post until the end, I have got some questions for you. ⬇️⬇️⬇️ And there is a kind of contest for the most detailed and valuable answer 😉


source

I don’t know a person who wouldn’t be happy to be able to communicate in at least one foreign language, in addition to his/her mother tongue. Well, we can hear some people say “i don’t need it” but in the most part of cases those people were not successful in their learning for some reason, so, rather than finding out why they failed and how to do it the right way, they prefer this simple explanation.

Being a language instructor and an educational coach, I have been working for a while with adults learners, meaning people who have already graduated (stopped studying) but at some point of their lives need to upgrade their language skills. There are almost no complete beginners among adults, for the most part people want to “refresh” what they have learnt at school, to “try again”, to “practice”, to “do it the right way”, to “finally start communicating”.

Now I am doing my own research and building up a special course for those who need a quick progress in their language learning after a break in their learning.
That is why I need your help. 🙏

I would like you guys to share your learning experience, especially if you have ever faced some challenges.

Did you ever start language classes that you left because something went wrong?
What is the most difficult challenge you have ever had in learning a foreign language?
Would you like to restart your classes?
If you do, why don’t you do it right now?

Can’t wait to read your comments.
The most detailed answer will be rewarded and mentioned in my next post related to the topic! 📝 ➡️ 💸

THANK YOU FOR READING ME
FOLLOW ME

Sort:  

I started a class on learning four foreign languages. Shuffling between work and this classes was definitely very challenging. Had to stop at a point where I felt I couldn't hold on anymore and might likely break down.
The most challenging aspect of learning is when you try to be practical and speak and u get laughed at rather than encouraged. It's tiring and looks like all your effort aren't producing results.
Of course I will like to go back to my classes now that I have capable hands handling businesses for me and the work load has drastically reduced.
I hope this helped
😘

thank you @kartie for sharing your story. 4 languages, wow, this is great! Even one language might not be easy but 4... May I ask you what were these languages and why you choose to learn them all at the same time? When you tell about getting laughed, do you mean native speakers you tried to speak with or other students in your class?

French, Spanish, Italian and one of our local language Igbo.
I remember traveling to Lome, Togo for an assignment and there I was trying to get practical with people. U needed to be there. I was shunned like I was speaking a forbidden language only those at the hotel were receptive and encouraged that the more I speak, the more I get fluent.
On why I choose to learn them, I do not want to have language issues when I need to transact business. And u know there's always this sense of belonging when u speak the native language of where ever you find yourself. You are likely to be at advantage as you will regarded as one of them.
If I succeed in learning these, I will proceed to learn Chinese... 😂

I never attend a class for any foreign language. except for English. However, it was taught to us in primary and secondary school in Malaysia. Despite the teaching, i wasn't able to converse well with it. I just self-taught and do a lot of reading and talking with english speaking person.
I would really like to learn chinese language if given the chance.

thank you for sharing.
Cheers.

Thank you @papanog, for sharing your experience. I wish you to progress in English and to start Chinese as soon as possible! You are right, school classes are often not sufficient to be able to communicate, so we have to do a lot by ourself, talking to native speakers, reading, watching movies. It can actually be more efficient than any class. Good luck to you!

Post helpful, I support and agree

Kindly follow Back

I'm a big fan of Lucyd. Lucyd is launching the LCD token generation event to decentralize the AR revolution. They are designing next-gen smartglasses that correct many of the issues plaguing currently available products, and a blockchain app ecosystem to support them. Follow the update page I made for the project for new information! Upvoted you!

I learned 2 languages because I had no choice, I went to a Chinese highschool where Mandarin and Fujian were mandatory. Largely wasted since I was never able to put it into practice.

I'd like to learn Japanese though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60985.22
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74