You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fractal Writing Contest #9, and winners of the previous one.

in #contest6 years ago

The golden tendrils of the ethereal goddess swept over all who bore witness. It was an epic moment that many had spent their entire lives awaiting and emotions were high as their eternal dreams were at last ready to be delivered, their tearful eyes fixed to the iridescent sky lest they suffer the misfortune of neglecting the majestic sight they longed for.

A thousand people stood in trance upon the mountain-top as they searched the painted skies, enraptured by the curls that wrought themselves amongst the shining stars, and a serenity rapidly washed over them as a sudden, blinding light burst over the horizon and temporarily shrouded the Favoured with a splendour they had not expected, yet all had secretly desired.

Moments passed and moments lost, the event that promised the greatest of fortune had vanished for another century. The sky returned to its natural, midnight hues as the golden swirls retreated into the ether, and a thousand people awoke from their bewildered stupor, their memories of the fortuitous experience forever lost... all had been found wanting and all had been denied.

The Favoured were now the Downtrodden, rejected and cursed by the fickle goddess they had served, their only prestige remained in guiding the future generations for the celestial event that would come once more. The Ascension was inevitable; one day there would come a disciple who remembered, and they would become their next sovereign.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@kaelci/ascension

Sort:  

That is a great story, just what I like to read in a creativity contest. It is full of images, it provokes thought and it gives hooks for many other stories! It's like opening a box full of creative ideas, I wish that someone would pick one and flesh out a bigger story.

Thank you for your words, and for hosting the contest! :D I'm already looking forward to #10.

I was discussing this particular entry with my partner as I was writing it and he kept trying to entice me into writing a full chapter, though I tried to make it as short and sweet as I could. It does pave the way for a larger story nicely and it gave me a little bit of inspiration towards a project I'm working on! Golden tendrils, painted skies, ethereal goddesses! Perfect.

Perfect, indeed! I would like very much to read a larger story set in that "universe" and I'd be happy to see the seeds of this little contest blossom into something much larger! Please, do it and don't forget to notify me. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66