You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An accidental post = bonus deep dream for you (@cyclops!)

in #contest7 years ago

sorry to hijack your thread but I've posted elsewhere to no avail: what's up with dTube? none of my videos play any longer. and as you pointed out, there's no deleting posts or videos here. so now I've got 14 useless posts with links that don't work. yay! interestingly all the videos hosted at my website still play. "but that's not de-centralized! boooo!"

Sort:  

yeah dude I have encountered same myself and what digging around I have done points to the unsatisfactory and disappointing conclusion that I am pretty sure they paid hosting ran out already. Basically the way DTube works is a portion of the post earnings (25%) are taken from each post on Dtube and this is used to fund Dtube operations to include paying a percentage of that out to the IPFS servers actually hosting the video. It appears that even for some of my videos that had decent payout, they don't stay up very long. Pretty sad, and ultimately makes DTube more or less useless if this is what is going on. I am not 100% certain but it seems to make sense after I reread how DTube works

carlitos! not you too! live in a dream or some such person said that my old videos going away should be taken as a sign that I must create something new every day! animations with hundreds/thousands of frames that take weeks to render? do that every day? then it hit me: he's talking about SELFIES! like steemit needs any more selfies.

:) well first you have to finish the time machine, then this sort of thing is not a problem

ok, tried re-uploading two of my videos to dTube--and they work. likewise those old corresponding posts with the original videos play now! how bizarre. tedious but doable: just reload everything? then do it again in three weeks when their shelf-life expires at dTube? be nice if the expired posts also went away as there's a lot of rubbish piling up in there. weirdest of all is the way I have to draw attention to this glitch by hijacking someone else's thread. all posts directed to the dTube tag get no response whatsoever. there's a tower-of-babel aspect to this place and a bewildering sense that one really isn't getting through. everybody's a salesman here but there's no service department? 'fraid if I see one more talking head I'm gonna barf.

there might be a broader issue going on with IPFS. I have not been able to get some brand new dsound things to play for me today as well

Similar thing has been happening to DSound for the past three days. Other users reporting that music has no sound. I lost all my uploads... weird!. Since @jonnymondo mentions DTube havin trouble, might it be something affecting the whole ecosystem?

Good morning!

@greencross

actually I have now ran into this myself, have not been able to get some dsound posts to play today that were brand new. btw did I tell you to DM me on Discord @gnashster#6522? I intended to in response to your previous comment and now can't be arsed to verify if I already did so, hope you understand lol but please do DM me :) much love - Carl

Hahah no worries Carl, I'm always in a hurry myaelf. i will dm you later today! Have a great day!

it is definitely possible it could be an issue on the IPFS side I suppose

Yeah it seems to be a problem many people are hitting. What a shame, yeah. I wonder if there might be a good solution for "sponsored" hosting for videos you'd like to keep up past their alloted bandwidth and pay something nominal for, somehow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27