You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Merry Muxxmas Contest #1

in #contest7 years ago

Trish and I spent the past couple of weeks fighting some kind of winter crud that's going around. She finally started feeling better, so she drove off to Florida this morning to see one of her only two living relatives. Trish and her sister will spend Christmas there with their Aunt Betty. Betty is 86 and this is her last Christmas in the home she's lived in these past couple of decades. In February she'll be moving to an assisted living community--her choice, not ours.

We spent more time this year hanging lights, maybe because we were sick, maybe because we were going to be apart. We always have a nicely done tree, but this year we've put up the hanging lights outside on the eaves and more lights on the boxwood and azalelias and the deck in the rear. We're not visible from space, but it's pretty bright out there with the lights all on. Tonight, it's making me a little lonely...

Christmas Day I'll wake up late, if I am lucky. I'll take my time moseying out to the country to see my mom. We'll probably drink some coffee and eat a little ham and potato salad, or something. She's in her 80s now and though she gets around better than I do most days, she is still getting older.

My phone will be my favorite friend that day, with any luck. With one son in Indonesia and the other in New Mexico, I'll be waiting and hoping to talk to them both. This is my real Christmas present. For Christmas, there is nothing I ever want more.

Sort:  

Glad to hear you are both feeling better. No worse time of year to be ill.

I hope you and your family have a very happy Christmas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40