You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Merry Muxxmas Contest #1

in #contest7 years ago

Like you, @gmuxx, I love Christmas because of my kids. They are all teenagers now, but it's still a really special time. I'm so glad to hear that you have done well with Steem and get to enjoy Christmas stress-free!

The past year was completely insane in so many ways, and included losing a good friend very unexpectedly, and a friend losing a child, very tragically. So many unfathomably sad things happened that I felt powerless and overwhelmed at times. But while these things are really difficult, it makes me so thankful for everything I have, and for the people in my life. I try to live every day with a smile on my face and an attitude of "isn't this GREAT?" because we just have this one life. I don't want to spend it focused on all the bad stuff.

As for traditions, we do the same things each year and they are always really special. Christmas eve is at my brother and sister-in-law's house in Minneapolis with fun and food and lots of wine and gifts and merriment. Then on Christmas morning the kids get up together and open their stockings while I try to sleep just a bit longer. Once my husband and I are up, I do some cooking and we all sit down for a big Christmas breakfast, with eggs and scones and fruit smoothies. And finally after that we open gifts together. Then later that day we go to my sister's house and we have more food and wine and fun and gifts, and perhaps watch a Christmas movie. Then, the day after Christmas we always drive to northern Minnesota to another brother and sister-in-law's house for even more fun and festivities, and they always have more snow there so we play broom ball until we collapse from exhaustion!

I really am blessed. I don't think I even appreciate these rich traditions enough. I am vowing this season, and in the year to come, to savor every moment, and to share that feeling of wonder and thankfulness with everyone in my sphere.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear of your losses. They make us appreciate what and who we still have.

Traditions are precious.

I wish you a very merry Christmas and a happy New Year

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40