Dancing and Diet - Goal Contest Entry

in #contest6 years ago

@ssimkins9 is hosting a 3 part contest and part of it is about goal setting. At the start of the year I made resolutions to get fit and healthy. After year 1 with baby Mila I have gotten physically weaker and eaten less healthy. That's all about to change! I've been slowly working on my fitness levels and am about to take it to the next level. Here are my goals:

Dancing

michael-afonso-421924-unsplash.jpg
I may be the first to do a waltz-breakdance fusion, be ready...
Image Source

Karen and I have decided to learn to dance. She's already way better than me, so she's kind of showing me the ropes and picking up new tricks as we go. We are aiming for at least 15 minutes a night, and will be practicing the waltz and the jitterbug to start out. After we gain some foot confidence there are some tango classes in town I've been wanting to try out.

The goal will be to be able to do a basic waltz with some turns thrown in and jitterbug with at least 3 moves by my cousins wedding date, which I believe is May 19th. Then we can throw down on the dance floor. After that I'm hoping we can hold our own in tango by the end of the year, but we will see how things progress.

Whole30

brooke-lark-254998-unsplash.jpg
Food is one of the major factors of our state of health.
Image Source

The next goal is completing whole30 which is a month long diet plan where you eliminate nearly every food that could potentially cause some form of allergy. That means no grains, no added sugar, no processed food(or very few that meet the criteria,) no dairy, no legumes.

It's super strict and will definitely be a challenge, but I think it will be just the reset needed to right the diet ship. I have experience with a variety of diets, including paleo, so I'm not too concerned about my will power, though I'm out of practice.

My goal will be to complete whole30 and not revert to a diet that doesn't benefit me. I used to be much stricter about what I ate and want to get back to eating only foods that support me.


Aside from these two goals I still am working towards my other resolutions for the year which include spiritual growth, adding revenue streams, and expressing myself more fully.

Stop by @ssimkins9 blog and check him out, he's always putting out great articles and this contest is much more fun than your typical "price is right" contests I always see.

Sort:  

This is great. I really like your two goals and am eager to hear about your progress as you dive into it.

My wife and I have always wanted to learn how to dance. I mean, we feel pretty confident in our bodies, so we get down on a dance floor. But, from a technical standpoint, we have no idea what we're doing. :D

and not revert to a diet that doesn't benefit me.

That's a great line. Great perspective on what we put in our bodies!

Cheers.

Haha, as long as you have fun out there right??. Thanks for reading and putting the contest on, I needed to re-up my goals, I've actually been doing a good job of working out lately so pretty happy about that, and whole30 and dancing are off to good starts. Confidence is key ;)

it will be interesting to see your dance moves. Mom and I took a dance class in college and actually learned some dances, like the waltz and polka but rarely use them anymore. jitterbug is the classic in Montana, if you can jitterbug you don't need to know any other dances.

Ya, mom was saying that you guys did and had a bunch of non-english speaking people there too haha. Karen and I will probably get pretty good

Marty Lyders, who was a year younger than me from Chester meet his wife there.


Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post. No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service. we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : https://t.co/2O7XMhY07R

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75