You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #26: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SB prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

As I waved at some friends on my way into Uniuyo microfinance bank, just by the entrance a young man asked for my help. He begged that he intended paying some money for his dues but he was 150 naira short, without questioning him, I gave him the money and headed into the bank.

A week later I was at the cashier's office hoping to get my schoolfees receipt stamped. The queue apart from discouraging anyone was stuffy. Subconsciously, I started singing the song, "COME TODAY I COME TOMORROW" by Timaya.

The cashier asked for the one singing and with clear conscience I raised my hand.
"Shae u say come today come tomorrow. I've marked your face. I will not sign your receipt until exams start!"

And that was it! All attempt pleading this lady was in vain...

Just on my way out of the queue, I recognized that young man as he was whispering to the Cashier. She called me in and said, "My son just saved your ass! Next time be singing nonsense!"

How could I have ever known that 150Naira would save me in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79