2nd Pun Contest WINNER! And week three pun announced!

in #contest7 years ago

Without saying adieu,

because we just started...

Without further ado,
I present to you
A winning pun or two

I have to do two because "two" rhymes with "you" and "ado", but luckily they both come from the same entrant, thus I am spared the agony of too many upvotes. Like death by more than ten paper cuts a day.
cough pun.JPG

Congrats @bka150030, you win upvotes!

For your pun comments in the 2nd EVER Pun Contest: https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/new-pun-contest-and-announcing-pun-contest-winners-prizes-worth-ones-of-cents

Your pun entries. Your puntries. Pentries?

To be entirely honest, @bka150030 wins for their second pun.

Why?

Is there a bigger font than that?
why.png

That's better.

Why indeed?

Is it because I like the user's name?
-going to the page...
HOLY SMOKES. (make you cough piously)
It would have been if I had known. But I didn't know. Welcome to the world of Brendans, Brendan.
Is it because I now see that he features images of meat on his page?
No, as I pointed out a moment ago, I am just now visiting his page.

THEN WHY?

and also, why the second pun over the first?

  1. Unexpectedness - I didn't know how he was going to weave together smoking and Starbucks. I should have guessed, but I didn't, so he wins at brain-foolin'. Extra points for avoiding the word "coffee" until the punch line.
  2. It's definitely about coughing. No doubt in my mind that this was a cough pun.
  3. It rags on something I'm happy to rag on, namely the effects of cigarettes. Confession, I used to smoke. Not a lot, but more than none. Now I don't. I had pneumonia. Not from the cigarettes, though that surely didn't help, it was a freaky thing that put me in the hospital for ten days. (HUMOR) And now, by doctor's orders, I can never smoke again (smoked meat is still acceptable, though).
  4. He explained at least one of his puns. You know I like that by now. If you don't, see my first contest announcement post!

If you think you can't pun, you're wrong

Easy to follow instructions if you follow this link (not one of the link sausages that I just saw on Brendan's page).
https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/puns-and-prizes-learn-to-pun-easy-fun-anybody-can-be-a-hit-at-parties

Special Mentions

@miniature-tiger, who won the first contest and then CLAIMED they weren't entering this one, but snuck a pun in there anyways.
@paul.atreides, who was on a roll! Thank you for your productive coughing.

Getting to know Brendan

(today's winner, not me)
Send me a link to a post you especially want me to upvote, Brendan! If that is your real name.

Getting to know Brendan

(me, not today's winner)
Don't over-think it, because I don't even know myself, but I think I feel even more inclined to choose puns that are entirely unexpected. That's probably not true. Sometimes I can see a joke coming a mile away, and I love it even more for that.

Hm. What am I trying to say?

NO LAZY PUNS.
I also don't like sexist or racist puns. They're lazy tropes that are untrue. Truth makes me laugh. That's why I like the smokers' cough one. Cough one sounds like coffin. Lung disease kills. COMEDY.

I also don't like talking about what I don't like, but I thought it was only fair to tell you.

That's it.

This week's word is
force.JPG
I want to point out that my brain immediately jumps to Star Wars, and you should feel absolutely free to make Star Wars puns.

Here's the example. DON'T USE IT.
If Harrison Ford had played a character who used the force to cut hair and regale them with joyful Russian nonsense, he'd be

Salon Trolo

(for reference: )

See, it's funny because Salon and Han rhyme and Trolo and Solo rhyme, and Han Solo doesn't even use the force, but if he did, to suggest that such a rascal would simply use it for hair-cutting instead of, like, smuggling and stuff, is silly and also it's funny because that guy singing is just so joyous. The consummate performer.

GIVE ME YOUR PUNS AND I WILL GIVE YOU MY UPVOTES.
Now I'll say "adieu" for the nonce. Adieu.

Sort:  

Dangit, I just discovered that I didn't win week one. I'm very stingy about joining contests that I don't have a surefire chance of winning, so I don't want to force myself to enter.

I guess you could say I'm a Smart ... (E)Vader of contests that I would just go on to lose. As much as I can, I try to spare myself the anxiety that comes from losing. A Palpatine-ting heart isn't really good for anyone's health. Chew(ie) on that, Brendan! Hahah

a) Yes. I love any entry that includes multiple puns
b) you won more from gentlebot than I could ever give you myself.

And I only ever get a vote from that bot whenever I comment on your post. I'm not really sure why that is haha!

Because you're clever and this is the best forum to unleash your cleverness and gentlebot rewards cleverness... perhaps.

OR, it took a shining on you, and it upvotes everyone that comments on your post just to get your attention. Guard yer ass, brother. S'all I'm saying.

Gentlebot is welcome here.

Congrats to Brendan on a well deserved victory last week. Your Starbucks pun was so good that I actually cursed out loud when I read it. I see that your winning pun got exactly 4 upvotes. So, suffice it to say that the FOUR-ce was with you!

Thank you paul, I appreciate it. I predict you will win in the near future... Call it my gift of fors-ight...

Thank you Brendan for selecting me as the week 2 winner. I didnt expect to win, but had fun trying to come up with an original pun.

Anyways, here is my entry this week:

Why is it impossible for a jedi to ever defeat their mother?

Because ma will always just equal the force.

(Newtons 2nd Law - (F)orce = (m)ass x (a)cceleration)

I FIG-ure Newton and his 2nd Law pun will carry the day. You force me to concede defeat. ;-)

Good lord, everyone is ON POINTE this time!

AND WE ALL LEARNED SOMETHING

Hot right out of the gate!

Luke Skywalker (whiny voice): Oh no, now R2's DVD player will not even close right. It must have got gunked up when he fell into that lagoon.
Master Yoda: Force it, you should not.

Wakkawakka

To be said in an awful French accent. Think of the policeman off 'Allo 'Allo


Eew runs ze securitee for ze Queen's salon.
L'Oréal Hair Force.

I love how creative we're getting week by week. I'm so proud of all my entrants.

Hurrah! I win again! I am the punmeister!
Man, that means I actually have to post something for you to upvote. Work work work work work!

Mmmexcellent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94