You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #25: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

I had never felt more betrayed. Despite my never ending wailing, nothing would bring him back through that door. That door, that was impossible to open. I could use my hands all I wanted but all I ever seemed to do was push it farther closed.

That door. The longer that door remained closed the longer by insides would turn, as well. I will never be able to eat again. If I don’t starve by winter, I’ll freeze then because I don’t know how to make the hot thing glow. Regardless, none of that mattered without his companionship.

He didn’t care though. He marched right out that door, yelling something I didn’t understand; an empty promise of some sort, most likely. I sat by the door, doing my best to get between him and the contraption; maybe wiggle my way out. I even perked my ears all the way up. He still didn’t care.

And out he went. Soon, it will be dark. And how many darknesses have come and gone since he left? None, to my memory. But, surely, there must have been many.

All of a sudden the door opened, and in he marched, with a bone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73