CONTEST: The story behind that one single picture - "A life being as fruit chart seller"

in #contest6 years ago

DSC04971.jpg

Picture location: Haridwar, North India
Picture date: 03-30-2014

His name is Ravi and he sales fruit chart at Haridwar Bus Stand. When Ravi got in the bus which was going to Delhi, I got one plate fruit chart for me by paying 10 INR. Seeing the behaviour of Ravi, I was curious to know about him, then I started talking. In the talk, Ravi started telling his story in his own words, "I wake up at 6 in the morning and go to the fruit market, from where I buy fruits of 350 INR daily, after coming back from fruit market at 8 am, I start selling fruit chart in every bus, one plate is 10 INR. I sell 50 to 60 plates by 7 pm in 11 hours. So, in this way, I earn total around 650 INR, in which 250 INR is net profit for the day (Less than $4). I have a son named ‘Ram’ who reads in the fourth class. I want to make Ram a cop. We are from Bihar and staying here on rent. Being uneducated, I do not get any good work around here, so I have to do this work to run my home. My wife goes to wash the dishes in the neighbourhood after dropping Ram at school. She pays rent for the house and I bear all the expenses of my family. We are now thinking that Ram should be admitted to a good school next year so that he can get good education.
After hearing his story, I also remembered my childhood when I used to go door to door to drop the newspapers. Well before the bus started, I want to give an additional 50 INR to Ravi, which Ravi refused to accept. The answer of the last question is this photograph, in which Ravi is standing with his friend who was selling cucumbers.

Life is very difficult but still there are many people like Ravi in the world who are fighting with the life like a soldier.

Sort:  

I can relate to the story. I've been a sidewalk vendor while I was going to school. Along with my fellow vendors, we were selling vegetables along the street. I needed to do so to help in my expenses for school. No regrets with the challenges back then. It is one of the things that molded me to what I've become. 😊

I appreciate you struggle. And one thing, without getting ground knowledge we can not become good people. I felt your story from inside. God bless you and may you get everything you deserve.

Thank you. May the blessings be with you too.

Thanks you and have a nice day.

Have a great weekend 😊

Impressive story...makes you think how unfair certain things are... thank you !!

Well said, That's why it is part of life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81