You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Did Grandma Say?(First Thanksgiving Contest by @olivia08)

in #contest6 years ago

Hi, @olivia08, congratulations for your

followers in Steemit. I hope you soon have one million of them.
This is my participation in your special contest:

The lady in the photo is my grandmother: Catalina Jimenez. She was like a mother to me. Although she was strong in character, with me she was very sweet and tender. She was a very original mixture: French father and Dominican mother.

I remember particularly about her that she always had a hen tied by a leg and a rooster tied also because the house pen had no fence. We did not eat the eggs, they were to get more chicks. She ever told me: "Never sacrifice the females, they are the ones that produce".

So we only ate the male chickens. Eventually she came to have a long line of hens tied with short ropes and a rooster with a longer rope so that he could overtake all the hens. Of course these strings got tangled up every now and then and the job that I did every day was to stay tuned to untangle them.

Her teaching to take care of the females and her love for the breeding that I have always had with birds and other breeding animals, and as she taught me, I only sacrifice the males.

In fact, when I go fishing, if I catch a fish that because of its bulk I realize that it is female, that it has eggs, I immediately throw it into the water again.

Another detail that I remember of her is that when someone asked for money she always said she did not have it, because all the money she got she kept for me, 'cause I was her only grandson, male and the spoiled.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43