An Air-conditioned Nightmare

in #contest7 years ago

It was a fairy tale wedding. Every girl was the color green that day. No, I'm not talking about the color of their dresses. I am referring to the green that comes from envy. Everyone wishes they were her. Grace was delirious with joy. She glows with joy and love. You could tell that she was smitten with the handsome about-to-be husband, Gabriel. I, the wedding photographer, had a front row seat and did not miss a second of the lavish wedding.


Image Credit:pixabay.com

The wedding cake was made in Italy and flown specially to Nigeria for the event. Though it was in the middle of the dry season, with its characteristic high temperatures, the wedding hall was cold to the point of freezing.

The air conditioners were keeping wedding guests cool. I subconsciously calculated how much it would cost to hire such a venue. I gave up on this calculation when I realized that the annual salary of my father won't cover the cost. The wines were flown in from France. The wedding is different to what I am used to covering as it was strictly by invitation. I considered myself lucky to be invited to the wedding. I was the backup photographer as there are like four other professionals. The younger brother of Grace, who I went to school with, fixed the job for me.

Gabriel, the groom, was a typical example of a child born with the silver spoon in his mouth and gold in his pocket. His father is an oil tycoon with ties to the government. They are a well-known family which made it no surprise to find the state governor among invited people. To say they are rich is an understatement. They are the definition of wealth.

It is an affluent event. I could see the envious looks of single ladies around. When it was time to dance you could see naira and dollars rain on the couple. The venue was floating with cash. The dignitaries came with their armed security, so there was no fear of a breach of peace.

Finally, the wedding ended. I went home and started preparing the photographs. Three weeks later Grace arrived at my studio with the latest Mercedes sedan. My neighbors were looking at the car the way a hungry boy stares at the food he couldn't afford. She was wearing big dark glasses. Even while in the dimly lit studio she did not take it off. That was strange.

She wore heavy makeup but appeared a tad bit withdrawn. I put it to stress from the wedding and her sudden change in social lifestyle. Grace was from an average family with both parents as teachers in the local community college. It was a surprise to most people when they heard that Gabriel was getting married to her. Many thought that when it came to choosing a life partner that Gabriel would pick from the family of the same social standing.

I sorted the picture, packaged and handed it to her. She opened a purse that looked expensive by the mere look of it and paid me. She overpaid by almost three times our agreed fee! I was happy since I needed money to go back to school. I decided to walk her to her car which she declined at first but seeing that I am not taking no for an answer grudgingly let me do that.

As soon as we stepped outside, I had a clearer look at her face and realized why she didn't take off her glasses. The makeup did a good job. But I am an expert in spotting a black eye when I see one. I asked her what happened to her eyes. She replied that she walked into a door. Then she laughed. I felt that was a forced laughter but accepted her explanation.

Three months later I ran into my friend, Grace's younger brother. It was from him that I learned that Gabriel had been beating the wife on a daily basis almost immediately after the wedding. But Grace always denies this fact and act all cheerfully whenever any of them visited. The nanny was the one that confided in him. Grace is still living with Gabriel. I don't know if the situation had changed. But I doubt it would due to the simple fact that wife beaters hardly stop. Grace is trapped in an air-conditioned nightmare.




This is an entry for STEEMIT VIRUS CONTEST #3; Awarding Creativity organised by @steemit-virus an initiative of @gbenga.

Sort:  

Incredible story @greenrun. Advocacy through teaching, showing the envy, the hurt, the pain. To stay, or to go. A story of the complexities of life and choices we make. Stay and help others but suffer, or leave and be scorned. If I was a judge I would vote yours number 1 .

Thank you very much. I wish the judge would do the same :)

its so sad,,, what make it worst is the victims don't speak. Not because they don't want to, but probably the social norm "forbid" them to do so.

The social norm is usually the case in most situation. The society mostly label the women as "bad" because the couldn't stay in a marriage that is clearly toxic. Thanks for commenting.

This is so sad and something that happens so often

You are right. But most of the victims don't speak up or leave. They prefer to wait it out under the pretence that it is a phase that would pass.

Some people forget that for them to be married, they need to stay alive first

I agree with you on this reasoning. Only those alive can stay married

This is a real societal issue...
I have no respect for woman beaters

They don't deserve any.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69245.03
ETH 3778.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51