Art Prompt Writing Contest #7 - Results

in #contest7 years ago

It has taken me longer than usual to read all twenty one entries to my latest writing contest. For that I apologize, but I wanted to make sure I read them all, as I make a point of not doing so until the contest ends.

This photo from @agsttne was to be used as a writing prompt and I was blown away with the number of excellent submissions.

When I started reading all the submissions, I made a conscious effort to judge all equally, regardless whether the author is a part of The Writers' Block or not. I do not want to show bias for the community I help to run, but equally, I know the hard work that the writers themselves and the editors at The Block put in to their writing.

After much deliberation I have selected my overall winner. This story stood out among other excellent submissions as it touched my heart and - without giving too much away - made me contemplate various family members and the struggles they have had.

Congratulations @negativer! Your story, Sunsetting, is my overall winner!

https://steemit.com/contest/@negativer/sunsetting-gmuxx-art-prompt-writing-contest

You win 20 SBD, plus the 2.053 SBD payout from the contest post, adding up to 22.053 SBD.

My first runner up is @mydivathings. Congratulations! You win 10 SBD.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@mydivathings/art-prompt-writing-contest-7-the-town

I love a story with a twist, and this one was perfectly executed. Well done!

My second runner up is @jrhughes. Congratulations! You also win 10 SBD.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@jrhughes/the-loneliest-number-gmuxx-art-prompt-writing-contest-entry

As a fan of virtual reality this struck many chords for me, but Jessica's writing skills added the icing to the cake. I very much enjoyed reading this.

The final runner up is @caleblailmusik. Congratulations! 10 SBD is on its way to you too.

https://steemit.com/writing/@caleblailmusik/two-art-prompt-7

Without giving the plot away, I very much enjoyed the surreal nature of this piece. Great job.

Prizes sent

Capture.PNG

I am very pleased to say that thanks to the value of SBD currently, the total prize fund sent out was over $514.00!


Thank you very much to everyone who took the time to write and enter my contest. Every one gets more and more entries and it gets harder each time to judge. But, I very much do enjoy it. Look out for my eighth writing contest next week.


Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, songwriting or playwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block.


Sort:  

well done.. it's a lot of work to go through all the entries and then find a winner

Woot! Thanks for the great prize pool, and for selecting me in the group of winners. I thoroughly enjoyed writing for this contest. Thanks much @gmuxx!

Well deserved! Congratulations @negativer :D

Thank you @jrhughes! The entire group of winners was great. @gmuxx obviously has good taste :)

Yes, I definitely agree with the results. Your story was breathtaking!

Congrats, @negativer, @mydivathings, and @jrhughes. Great work, all! And thank you @gmuxx for putting on these contests and giving us all such a fun opportunity. I love it. And the mix of stories that come out of these contests is absolutely delightful.

Yaaay!! I am so excited for being one of the winners. Thank you so much!! As always I enjoy pouring out my stories on Steemit.

Congratulations @mydivathings! What a great pick for the winners circle :D

Thank you and Congratulations to you as well. But like I said, I prefer your story over mine:)

Aw that's kind but it's probably just because it's your own. I am always the most critical of my own stories. You have a wonderful talent and wrote an exciting tale with an awesome twist!

Congratulations to all winners. And good work to all who did their best with their stories. Putting something out that you know is your best work is its own reward!

This is brilliant. I'm definitely going to join the Writers' Block

How do i join?

We'd love to have you! This link should take you to our #noobynook on Discord, where there is a welcome post and plenty of info on the community and what it has to offer. See you around, I hope :)

I keep getting redirected to the app and then nothing

Do you have a Discord account? If so, sign in to it, if not, sign up (it's free).

Thanks so much @gmuxx! This was an awesome prompt and I'm flattered to be in the company of such deserving winners!

Great stories and well-deserved winners! Congrats to all!

Thanks @gmuxx. Winners: Congratulations for your amazing works!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65