You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Cringe...)

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

What a fun post!

I've never heard of the Austrlian cultured accent before. That rush guy almost sounded English. There was just a teeny, tiny taste of Aus in there.

Love the 22 murders video. Brilliant! that definitely is an idea I have picked up from the media - that there are a high number of backpacker/camper murders in Aus.

I'm not sure what people think of the Brits. That we're all posh?

There are definitely a load of misconceptions about the weather. I can't tell you how many Americans I've met who think it's always foggy in London. I just don't get that. I don't think I've ever seen a live broadcast from the UK when there was any fog. Rain yes. But fog? No.

also, the culture varies dramtically depending on what part of the country you are in. We have a lot of foreign language students in Brighton and they tend to think that this is what the whole of the UK is like but it is actually very atypical.

!CHOPS5

Sort:  

It's kind of funny... the "cultured" accent was normal in the early 20th century... but then accent become more broad... especially among the media and political classes... to show their "solidarity" with the ordinary person...

UK is pretty huge... we have mostly experience with the London area (which I fondly remember for constantly having black snot in my nose.... no fog though...). Once we had a little visit out in the Cotswolds.. and that was really great!

The winners and the new question (Your favourite place in the room...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayyourplaceintheroom-ig3wdoalrx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68