You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "S-B-D" >>> Poem Recitation Contest: 25 SBD (Minimum) ... ComedyOpenMic #40

in #contest5 years ago

I love this and the parody/allegory. I doubt I shall participate - not really good at this camera/video thing. Don't even do selfies - very often. And then it's usually with a feline.... On a serious note, I have read and contributed to your thread/discourse on Steemit and, like you, am here for the long haul. Check your wallet for an insignificant contribution to the contest.

Sort:  

@fionasfavourites,

I doubt I shall participate - not really good at this camera/video thing. Don't even do selfies - very often.

I anticipated your camera-shyness:

The video can be of you reciting the poem, or, you can employ other visuals with a voice layover.

... and hence, deprived you of the argument. Much of the history of humanity involves guys talking girls into doing things they think are bad ideas. :-)

Thank you SO MUCH for your Sponsorship contribution. I will edit the post and include you in the august group Sponsors.

One might argue that such small amounts are insignificant.

What do you call 10,000 men with swords?

10,000 men with swords.

What do you call 10,000 men with swords ... that act as one?

An army.

It is the coordination of efforts, many of which are, in-and-of-themselves, insignificant ... that is transformative.

Quill

Bwhahaha!

... and hence, deprived you of the argument.
Well you almost had me, until
Much of the history of humanity involves guys talking girls into doing things they think are bad ideas. :-)
I'll probably still decline ;)
What do you call 10,000 men with swords ... that act as one?
An army. It is the coordination of efforts, many of which are, in-and-of-themselves, insignificant ... that is transformative.
Very kind. I hope you do get another 9,999

@fionasfavourites,

Much of the history of humanity involves guys talking girls into doing things they think are bad ideas. :-)

I'll probably still decline ;)

Guys talking girls into bad ideas is a process. We learn patience at a young age. "Probably" ... leaves open the door to yes.

My 'favourite' (notice that I spelled it 'your way' ... that's called charm ... which is part of the process) statistic in the world is: 'On average, men speak 7,000 words per day ... women, 20,000.'

But that's the average. Clearly, I'm on the HIGH END of the Bell Curve for men. I do 20,000 words in a reply-to-a-reply-to-a-reply-to-a-comment. How are you, realistically, going to survive that? Sooner or later, Nature is going to kick in and you're going to start thinking, "Hmmm ... maybe I would like to make a recitation video. If so, how would I do it?" It is inevitable so you may as well get cracking.

And 26 SBD (so far) ... in this day and age, that's a pretty good Prize.

Moreover, have you noticed that a number of whales have already upvoted this post (including Curie). I got a DM last night and, while I can't mention names, I'm told that one of them is looking for that 'perfect South African accent' to articulate his next White Paper.

Fiona ... opportunity knocks.

Quill

After a couple of white wine spritzers, four hours without electricity (in 2 hour slots, known as loadshedding - I kid you not), getting my dates confused, I may rise to the challenge.

The deadline?

It all depends on the aforementioned electricity and Sunday Supper.

As far as the perfect Saffa accent, I am sure there are others more imminently qualified since I have, at different times been asked if I am British and/or Australian.

I shall not offer an opinion.

Over and out. For now. :D

Posted using Partiko Android

@fionasfavourites,

After a couple of white wine spritzers,

I TOLD YOU the booze would help!

I may rise to the challenge.

You are most definitely in. This is ALWAYS the kind of language women use when being talked into a bad idea by men. It's part of the transition of making it sound like it was their idea in the first place.

Now, how do we get @jaynie in? Better yet, how do we get the two of you tanked up and collaborating? You know how competitive she is ... if Steemitbloggers' reputation is on the line, and the job practically requires getting tipsy ... I'll end up with a video that will go viral, and stay that way, for a month. Ah ... boots! Jaynie, this is your opportunity to show off your "boots of ill-repute." You can blame the whole thing on me ... I didn't give you Shakespeare ... I gave you farts. What choice did you have?

What do you think @lynnecoyle1 & @lymepoet? Surely you're not going to let those South African girls steal your thunder.

Quill

Hahaha! @jaynie and I getting tanked a doing something together would have been possible - still is - but we live nearly 200km apart, so you will have to wait for that. Don't die of antici-p-a-tion: it could take a while and would definitely not fit the format of this competition... 🤭

This "persuadable girl" is not going to succumb to your eloquence and step out of her comfort zone. Instead, I will retreat to my kitchen and continue with my cunning plan to entice you to visit South Africa and then you will see just what @jaynie and I can get up to!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60