Dungeon and Steem: Day 1 Engagement – The definition of tricky situation

in #contest7 years ago

The game is on! Players are trying to do their best, some are still getting familiar with the concept and some are showing lifelong DnD experience. I have been trying really hard to help each and every one and talk them out of really bad decisions (those that I succeeded with are my witnesses!), with a plan to do that until the end of Day 1 (this is the last time then). Didn’t always work out :(. Some of the new DnD players will simply need to spend more time thinking about and creating their plans, or they will perish. I hope that everyone is having fun though! I will post Day 2 article either on Wednesday or Thursday.

Elves and Orcs could have gotten themselves into a potential engagement this round. Let’s check out who managed to do so.

Update

As expected I came across many things that need solving. I will release new patch fixing those issues with the start of Day 2. 

Prize pool

- The prize pool is currently 154.682 SBD

- Bonus prize for the best plan to 20 SBD

Also I want to ask you guys, whether you think that it would be wise to exchange the SBD for Steem now with the skyrocketing prize? If you have any advices feel free to comment about that here or message me via Steemit.chat. I still haven’t done the move. Thanks!

Elf – Lifanoîl

Source


@dragonslayer109

Inventory: Old rusty sword, bow of the highest quality, no food, water for 2days in a sack, no bag quiver with 19 arrows attached to your right leg 

Action plan 

Following the orc at a safe distance to see what is dropped and watch his movements to see if he is the one bleeding, Cast spells using nature to trap the orcs feet to get a clear shot at him. Once this is over drink water and return to my camp. Once I have woken up search the area where the orc came from to look what has happened and scavenge anything that is left in the area. Search the surroundings to have a look for any food or water and return to the closets tunnel for the evening to restock on supplies. Tell your fellow people at the tunnel on what I have discovered and experienced that day, I then ask if any of them would like to accompany me the next day to search around the area the orc came from. 

Result

You were following the Orc from kind of safety distance. You were seeking for any information, that might inform you about any target’s injury. You didn’t spot any. Orc started to slow down, but the cause seemed to be plain exhaustion. You tried to use this moment to your advantage and used nearby ground level branches to tackle his legs. The Orc seemed to spot the branches creeping at him though, because he skilfully dodged them by graceful jump. You were beginning to tire down and decided that the sooner you take a shot, the better for you. You were slowing down to take aim with bow and arrow already in hand. When you were ready you stopped and took an aim. The Orc jumped into the bushes before the arrow struck him. The arrow flew into the bushes in a direction that might prove positive to hit the target. You cannot be sure though. Nothing that would inform you that the arrow struck didn’t reach your perception. After the run and minor spell cast you feel a bit winded. You observe the bush for a while, not catching any indication of movement, while catching the breath. It was a bit windy and the forest was loud on its own.


@xxsenpaixsamaxx

Inventory: Old rusty sword, bow of the highest quality, no food, water for 2days in a sack, no bag quiver with 19 arrows attached to your right leg  

Action plan

I spot the orc and decide to pursue him, I quickly catch up to him and stay on my guard about 5 meters from him. he starts to slow, I am too becoming more tired, I then take this as my opportunity to draw my bow and load an arrow from my quiver, which is attached to my right leg, after expending 1 arrow of my 20 using my high luck advantage and master archer skill I take aim hoping not to miss also taking in the distance between me and the orc and drop rate of the arrow from the 3rd level of the forest, I cast a spell that uses the existing roots and bushes to entangle his legs to keep him rooted steadily. I position myself and draw my old rusty sword. outcome: unpredictable. After this I retire to a tree to rest and drink water, I then go scavenging around the woods looking for edible plants or wild game as a source of sustenance. I use my perfect orientation of the woods to mark places I find that contain water and edible plants, this also prevents me from getting lost. 

Result

You were following the Orc from kind of safety distance. You were a bit closer than you should be, but still high enough for the Orc to make a move at you. When the Orc started to slow down, you stopped to take aim with bow and arrow already in hand. The arrow flew, and before it even hit you started the switch of your weapons. The Orc jumped into the bushes before the arrow struck him. The arrow flew into the bushes in a direction that might prove positive to hit the target. You cannot be sure though. Nothing that would inform you that the arrow struck didn’t reach your perception. No one to wrap in your prepared skill to be seen now, so you stopped the preparation of the spell. It didn’t cost you any energy yet. You observe the bush for a while, not catching any indication of movement. Then again it was a bit windy and the forest was loud on its own. You can’t be sure.


@feekayo

Inventory: Old rusty sword, bow of the highest quality, no food, water for 2days in a sack, no bag quiver with 19 arrows attached to your right leg 

Action plan

I scan the bushes for a nearby elf. If I find trace their scents and find one close enough I go to him/her and quickly inform him/her "bloodied up orc spotted, off to gather more info". In the absence of any nearby orc. I take one arrow from my quiver and leave a bare but comprehensible message on a visible tree bark with words like "bloodied orc spotted, I'm off", shouldn't take too much out of my time. I then pursue, I keep a reasonable distance out of the range of the orcs' nose. I quietly glide through the high three line always keeping the orc in my sight. Another reason for me pursuing from a distance is to make sure he is not being pursued by other belligerent forces. I plan to pursue him for 4 hours, or when he gets tired out, whichever comes first. If after 4 hours he is still running and I have still not picked up the scent or seen any creature in pursuit. I try to catch up and attempt to kill him with my bow and arrow. If he stops and waits without me picking up a trace that he is being followed by someone other than me I go nearer and attempt kill him from a distance with my bow and arrow. Otherwise if he is being followed, I go back for reinforcements 

Result

You carved quick message for other scouts, pointing at location where the Orc is running. They should be able to track you easily when they discover it. You started following the Orc from safety distance right after that hoping to come across any reinforcements. You both seemed to be equally fast and durable. You were beginning to tire down and decided that the sooner you take a shot, the better for you, since you haven’t found any Elf yet. You were slowing down to take aim with bow and arrow already in hand. When you were ready you stopped and took an aim. The Orc jumped into the bushes before the arrow struck him. The arrow flew into the bushes in a direction that might prove positive to hit the target. You cannot be sure though. Nothing that would inform you that the arrow struck didn’t reach your perception. After the run you feel a bit winded. You observe the bush for a while, not catching any indication of movement, while catching the breath. It was a bit windy and the forest was loud on its own. 

Orc – Krognak

Source


@thatsweeneyguy

Inventory: Double-headed axe of high quality on your back, 2 daggers at your belt and one tiny dagger attached to your boot. Backpack, pouch of water for one day, pouch for coins (35), food for 1 more day (arm attached to your back) will last for that day only 

Group: Krognak, Makhel 

Action plan

As I wake up, feeling very groggy, I reach to the back of my head and feel a knot where I was struck the night before. Pressing a finger to my nose, closing one nostril, I blow mud and snot from my sinuses, and survey the ruins of my camp. Standing slowly, I walk over to retrieve my axe. One hard jerk and it releases, blood, skin, and hair still stuck to the blade. 

I search the camp carefully, looking for any supplies that might help me on my venture to the nearest camp. Rolling dead bodies to the side, I check pockets, and search any buildings left standing. Looking specifically for food, water, and a bag to carry things in.

After spending plenty of time searching, I stomp into the woods on the way to the nearest camp, and maybe my only living ally, with revenge on the forefront of my mind. 

Result

You retrieved your axe, trying to more or less clean it using the cleaner parts of random dead body, then you have tightened it to its place on your back. There was so much death all around you. There was no way how to scavenge each and every one so you were choosing random bodies on your way to the rest of the standing houses. First you came across a pouch of water, still half full. You have also found kind of a backpack of average size. On your way you have found a cleanly detached arm and started to hungrily feast on it while still on your way. Most of the buildings didn’t contain anything particularly useful. Until now you have gather around 35 coins and a pouch for them. Also you have found some other water pouches. You drank them and refilled your bottle, which had a water for one full day now. Nothing particularly useful has been found and your back started to ache from all the bending. You were slowly but surely losing hope that the buildings would contain something more usable than the read bodies when suddenly, in the next building, you have found lying your adept and a good friend Makhel. You quickly checked him not minding the aching back and found out he’s still alive. You have been anything but gentle while trying to wake him up but you have finally managed to do it. When he was conscious again, you shared with him your plan. He will of course join your efforts. You were lucky not to find any enemy until now, but you should be fine from now on for the time being. You trod on slowly towards the forest, but last unchecked building was still standing in your way. When you were really close to it already, you have heard dull noise coming out from its entrails. 


@swolesome

Inventory: spear on your back, 2 daggers at your belt and one tiny dagger attached to your boot, food for 1 more day (arm attached to your back) will last for that day only, rope, firelock, hide, pouch for coins (10)

Group: Krognak, Makhel 

Action plan

I scour through the remains of my camp. Checking every little hut and container for rope, firestarter, water resistant fabric to make a tent and any coins to help support my next campaign of vengeance. I check my dead soldiers and rivals for ranged weapon. I eat one of the dead warriors. I pack up the rest of the meat and go toward the road. With the expectation I can ambush any isolated travellers who have animals I can ride. If needed I can use the supplies I scavenged and lay traps.

Result

There was so much death all around you. You decided to check out the remaining huts. On your way you have found a cleanly detached arm and started to hungrily feast on it while still on your way. Most of the buildings didn’t contain anything particularly useful, but you have managed to find following tools – rope, firelock and handful of coins. Also you have cut down a hide of one hut using your knife. You managed to place the firelock and coins into your pocket, but you had no other choice but to carry the heavy hide with the rope on your shoulders. You will maybe manage to carry it for a while. One of the huts had a spear in it next to a dead body, so you tightened it to your back. In the next building, you have found something much more interesting - your adept and a good friend Makhel lying unconsciously on the ground. You quickly checked him and found out he’s still alive. You have been anything but gentle while trying to wake him up but you have finally managed to do it. When he was conscious again, you shared with him your plan. He will of course join your efforts. You were lucky not to find any enemy until now. Last unchecked hut was still standing in your former camp. When you were really close to it already, you have heard dull noise coming out from its entrails.
curation followers rep followers
Sort:  

i love D n D it's fast becoming a lost art… tell me, is it too late to "play" your game or how does this work on Steemit ? looks like your set and the party has begun… a bit confused here though i'm proficient in D n D .. 3.5 was the last set of books, i got , and i refuse to update anymore it was starting to get ridiculous, and it didn't help the genre changing the rules, and gameplay constantly.. I'm really interested to know more..

Check out this article…everything is explained there :). Yes it’s too late to join right now. You could be a backup player if some1 chooses to stop playing. You could retake control of his char then.

i'll check out the original post.. thank you.. .

we have one char free to take if you want! If youre interested create an account on https://steemit.chat/ and contact me (same nick name)...the sooner the better :)

too soon .. too fast sorry...

Technically you have time till Thursday.

Absolutely awesome! I'll write up my next action plan, and message you on chat

If only I understood.

what is that you not understand

You said one word exactly...what would you say I did not understand?:D

am I still in?

sure! not every1 will be in egagement every turn

Great first day..... once again... great job.it is awesome to be part of this. More grease to your elbow. Will send my action plan ASAP... thanks for the DnD tips

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00