You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prize Pool #2 SBD Prize

in #contest7 years ago

Have you been able to get to the beach very often? I've made it to Florida 3 times in my life. I love visiting but I am EXTREMELY afraid of Tsunami's for some reason. I've never been in one, or even been close to being in one. I don't know maybe I saw a movie as a kid that stuck with me or something, lol. But I would like at least once to visit and stay in a cottage near the water. All we've ever done is stay in a hotel many miles from the beach. If I could get over my fear, it would be so peaceful!

Sort:  

Aw, that's too bad your fear of tsunamis wrecks staying on the beach for you! I highly recommend it for sheer relaxation. Maybe try a high rise so you can tell yourself you're above the flood zone? Or are you afraid of going to the beach period?

Luckily for me, I have family who live within a reasonable drive (1-1.5 hours) from the Gulf coast. Whenever I visit them, we get a couple beach trips in. Last time I was there I got an Airbnb rental right on the barrier island--OMG, that is SO the way to go, even better (and cheaper) than the beach hotels. I was just thinking this morning that if I had a beach house I'd spend the whole freaking month of February doing the snowbird thing!

I have loved it every time I have been there. I honestly don't know where the Tsunami fear comes from. I've never been in one, never saw on in real life. I guess seeing all the video of people being swept away in the one from the last 10 years or so left an imprint. I get very emotional thinking about the fear people go through and hearing the stories of the survivors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43