Contest: Guess the Science Thing and Win Steem Basic Income

in #contest7 years ago

The TV show This Old House has a semi-regular segment I enjoy called 'What Is It?' During the segment, the handymen are shown a normal, albeit usually pretty specialized, tool and are supposed to guess what it is. The segment is somewhat impressive when they guess correctly, but it's most fun when they come up with plausible yet outlandish stories for what the thing could be.

I recently won 3rd place in the recent photo contest run by @geopolis, and I thought I'd try to do something fun with the prize SBD and take a change of pace from detailed, long topics.

Introducing 'Guess the Science Thing!'

Take a close look at the pictures below:

detail view.png

Detailed view

full view.png

Full view

This is a lab item I often use, yet which some of my colleagues have never seen before. It has a specialized use, and you may never end up needing it, depending on what your research requires. I don't want to bore you, so I'll put a cork in it and get to the rules and rewards.

Contest rules

  • Try to come up with the most fun story for what this could be.
  • If you want to make a serious guess, please ROT13 encode and post the encoded text so as not to spoil it for anyone else.
    • I'd also be curious if you randomly knew this or know it from working in a lab.
  • The post which I enjoy the most (in my completely biased, arbitrary, and undisputed opinion) will receive a share of @steembasicincome, courtesy of my SBD winnings.
  • Every full SBD this post earns will go towards additional shares for runners-up.
    • If this post has only a few entrants, rewards will 'wrap-around' until I run out
  • I plan on announcing winners some time next Friday (2018-03-30) evening, Eastern US time. Shares will be bought shortly thereafter.

Disclosure

I would feel guilty if I didn't disclose that people who sponsor shares of @steembasicincome also receive shares, so I will benefit as well.

Sort:  

Look at me, I'm speaking in code!

Lbh znqr fbzr gryyvat chaf, fb V'z tbvat gb znxr n frzv-vasbezrq thrfg. Lbh yvar hc n ohapu bs ivnyf (9 va gbgny) naq gura lbh pna hfr guvf nf n fgbccre gb frny nyy 9 ng n tb.

is it for collecting soil samples at precise levels?

You just planted 0.24 tree(s)!


Thanks to @effofex

We have planted already 3493.19 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18543.46
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

When your bacteria get nasty, you need to spank them. To be more precise, you have to give them a good old spanking once every week, lest they become troublesome. He who loves his microbes, chastises them.

I have no idea what that is, but it looks like some weird measuring device for setting the measurements for weaving rugs or something...

Are they open or closed at the bottom?

Hmm, I have no idea what this could be. I'm actually pretty excited to find out once the contest is officially closed!

Hopefully it'll live up to your expectations. Not too long to wait, at least.

Hehe, yeah, we'll see! I spent some time googling for rare microbiology equipment, but my search did not really give me any answer at all.

Just wanted to update you all, since I know you've been on the edges of your collective seats. I've got some unplanned labwork that I've got to get done tonight. I will be updating when I get home, but it will be late at night (or early in the morning, sigh).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60883.28
ETH 2401.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63