You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog Presents: The Moth Madness Photo Contest!

in #contest5 years ago (edited)


Celebrating all the beauty found in the majestic garden of life. Oh, yes. I raise my glass to the nature of it all.




This a Hummingbird Moth and it is quiet fast-moving! Rapid-beating wings and a furry body give the Hummingbird Moth the appearance of a small hummingbird, but this moth lacks the long, thin beak, which is one of the hallmarks of a real hummingbird. Instead, the Hummingbird Moth has a proboscis that reaches deep into flowers.

Unlike most moths, the hummingbird moth is most active during daytime hours or close to dusk.

Thank you for hosting another awesome contest @kus-knee! Here is my entry, well ahead of time, for a change!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Sort:  

@dswigle what a great shot!

I love this one!
it pays me a visit every now and then
still does despite that the lavenders in the backyard are all dried and wilted
apparently it also loves the fuschia there :)

edit : my vote goes on this one Old Dog :D
Tip!

That’s a great shot! We love seeing those in our garden!

I am always excited when I see them and NEVER have the camera! They are too quick. I will say the first time I saw one, I thought it WAS a hummingbird!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83