Steemit Story-telling Contest -- Doughtaker's entry

in #contest7 years ago

entry.png
Author's Note: This entry is for a contest being run by @dimitrisp, which can be viewed here. The picture above is a modified version of the original contest post's intro pic.

My path to Steemit began as the result of a conversation I had with a friend of mine back in June. My friend had mentioned that he was trying to get into cryptocurrency, and in particular, the altcoins Ethereum and Monero. From this conversation, I became curious and started doing some research about the cryptocurrencies currently around. Many of the cryptocurrencies I read about seemed to have a similar "script for success": pay for a high-quality mining rig with a powerful GPU, and then try your luck. However, one cryptocurrency stood out -- Steem. Steem and the Steemit.com platform didn't try to tout the same "script for success" as the other altcoins, so that got my attention. I browsed around Steemit.com for a while, and then I made the decision to take the plunge and join.

So here I was, with no one introducing me to Steemit, no social network to speak of on Steemit, and on my own trying to figure out what I could do with Steemit, and what might be expected of me. It appeared that I also just happened to join at the worst possible time, shortly after the implementation of HF19. At any rate, I took my time, went through the basic motions of posting, commenting, and curating, and waited to see what results I'd get. I came prepared, knowing that Steemit was not supposed to be a get-rich-quick scheme (something which unfortunately too many newbies fail to realize is an unreasonable expectation anyway). It was, and still is, my plan and intention to be on Steemit for the long-term.

As luck would have it, I ran into something that was not one of the basic actions (posting, commenting, and curating), and which thus far has proven to be much more profitable (money-wise) than going through the basic actions. That something was... contests. Yes, contests -- just like the one I'm entering with this post. I don't sign up for every single contest that I see (nor should anyone attempt it), and I don't automatically enter a contest just because a large prize pool is advertised. I prefer to pick out contests that: (a) interest me, (b) play to my strengths, and/or (c) offer a chance for me to improve my skill in a certain area. As for any prize money that I win, most of that SBD gets plowed back into SP as part of my long-term plans. Thus far, I'm pleased with my results, as those have exceeded my expectations.

And that pretty much sums up my Steemit life so far. Hopefully the future will hold even bigger and better things!

Sort:  

your work is good

Congratulations @doughtaker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by doughtaker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47