You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative - Week 34 - Share your most undervalued work ($24 SBD rewards last week)

in #contest6 years ago

Indeed, posts without photos are kinda dull... and I know a LOT of people depend on their smartphones as their connection to the world. I have one, too... I barely use it, mind you.

But I should add that I'm an "old fart," old enough that I helped usher in the Internet, and remember days when web sites were "all text" and putting an image online consisted of TWO major elements: Finding a large enough copy shop that they had a flatbed scanner (cost: about $5K, at the time!) where they could scan a paper photo and create a gif or jpg... AND being mindful that the created image was small enough (typically no more than about 60K total!) that it wouldn't be a drag on people who were using dial-up connections moving at 28.8K. Yes, that's a real thing.

But that doesn't mean I don't empathize with the pain of anyone having to do without their technology!

Sort:  

Thanks for the wonderful insight! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47