You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You a Talented Poet? Then I Want to Help You! Daily Bread Contest Backed by Whaleshares and Isle of Write Communities

in #contest6 years ago

Greetings, @vitkolesnik! Here is my entry:

https://steemit.com/poetsunited/@crescendoofpeace/most-charitable-poetry-contest-1-speaking-my-truth-original-poetry

I've been writing poetry since childhood, as both of my parents loved poetry, and introduced us to a wide variety from an early age. They were also both pianists, and our home was always filled with music, so my brain clicks into that gear very easily.

I had all but stopped writing poetry for many years, when a trip to the Florida Keys in 1997 with friends, and my first encounter with the devastation of the reefs outside the protected areas, made me determined to write about what I had experienced.

I signed up for an online course in writing short nonfiction, figuring that article writing would be how I got my message out, and a funny thing happened . . . my brain said, "Okay, you want to write short nonfiction? I'm switching to lyric poetry mode." ;-)

And write I did - like a madwoman - sometimes five, ten or more poems in a night, and they were actually decent . . . better than anything I had written before. I had found my groove. And I've continued writing poetry regularly ever since, interspersed with songs from time to time, and a whole lot of blog posts and articles as well

Here on Steemit, I write on a lot of different subjects, though for the first couple of months I mostly lurked and got my bearings.

Then @brokemancode started the Thirty Day Haiku Challenge, and being a long time lover of haiku, I jumped in, completed the challenge, and just kept going. Last night I posted my Day 174 haiku.

Thanks for this contest, and good luck to everyone who enters!

Sort:  

Wow! I loved this poem! Speaking My Truth... so much of it was like I'd written it myself. Upvoting your comment as the post is past payout. Keep writing, sister!

Thank you kindly! I think I just might. Too late to stop now. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53