You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Mottos....)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

In my family, only one virtue is held true by all.

It has been taught from generation to generation, though it is becoming more and more rare.

It is the binding unity that allows for civilization to exist between strangers, associates, friends, and family members alike.

It transcends bigotry, racism, and segregation.

It generously gives to all a status worthy of a certain level of kindness, chivalry, self-control, common courtesy, and good manners.

It is inherently given to all people from the moment of their birth, but once abused, it can be taken away in an instant.

It can be easily lost if not given in return, and it can sometimes be nearly impossible to regain.

Respect

We've all been disrespected before. In my family, my older brother and I went through a twelve year rivalry since the day of my birth. Being the youngest of four, my siblings always called me the spoiled one, and I wondered if my parents had simply given up on discipline by the time I was born. So that responsibility fell to my brother.

We exhausted every bad word, name, curse, prank, tease, embarrassment, threat, punch, and a few close calls I dare not mention. When all the childish recklessness ceased to net any positive results, we eventually found peace by offering space, silence, and patience to avoid pointless invitations of animosity, jealousy, and instigation. Our punishments became fewer. We found more activities we could enjoy doing together, with less fighting. Eventually we learned to extend the same conscientious courtesies to others, and discovered how easy it was to stay out trouble.

Over time, I would never restore my brother's full respect (not after the incident with the scissors), but I was able to escape his endless ire by taming my ways. We never became super close friends, yet he's helped me out in countless ways.

Today, he is an honored and decorated veteran. Two of his limbs were amputated due to a life-threatening trauma caused while he was driving a convoy vehicle through deadly terrain. He is the first person we open the door for, pull out a chair for, and offer our help to, and he is still the last person to ask for any assistance. All he ever wanted of anyone was the same common respect deserved by all people. That's why he served, and a small measure of respect and decency is all he ever expects in return.

Sort:  

Simple respect for others is such a simple thing but it means so much. Often it is hard to realise that we have slipped and shown disrespect, as it is really something that needs to be constantly in the front of our mind.

The winners and the next Steem Basic Income Giveaway can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleastfavouritefood-10toxcec95

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67