A lifeline for the drowning.

in #contest6 years ago

light-2156209_1280.jpg
Source

I would be writing on the moment i decided it was worth sticking around and putting in the work on steemit.

I joined steemit in February on the behest of my sister. I have always shied away from writing, readng is more my thing but i was just done with service year and had no immediate job in sight so i thought i might as well take this steemit up.

My introductory post gave me hope that i could make it. I made a little over $5 on it but that was it. I never made up to $1 after that. I would spend so much time and data polishing a new post that i was sure everyone would love but gaining visibility was hard. My new posts gradually began earning less than the last.

It was more than frustrating. I spent a lot of money and time online and my efforts were not yielding fruits. Then i started reading posts on how to succeed on steemit. I devoured every post available on the topic.
It was recommended comments help out and i did so continually with little headway.

Then i was introduced to the world of contests. I wasn't earning much and contests offered more than what my post was making.

I was about giving up when i got a transfer in my wallet. @goodguygreg transferred SBD to me as the winner of his contest. I was elated...at last, something to show for my efforts.

The grass hasn't always been green but i am here to stay. Steemit seems to be all i do these days. Winning that contest gave me hope that i could make it on this platform.

@majes.tytyty was a lifeline, a commendable steemian. He never fails to support me with his constant upvote. I am grateful to him. @reachout community also another reason i stay on steemit. Their help and guidance is forever appreciated.

Consistency and hardwork surely pays. Community interaction also helps one on steemit.
I wrote this for @malloryblythe's contest. Check here for more information.

Sort:  

I am very happy to see that you stayed... I think there is a lot of things that you can do to keep integrating more with everyone... I would recommend 2 things for you to increase the number of people that you can get to know:

  1. Asher's League of Excellence which is run by @abh12345... You should just go to his page and ask to join it... It will then rank you and your engagement each week. The reason why it is good is you will find many other people there that are actively involved. I have never met one of them that didn't like to share a comment and get to know me. I think you will like.
  1. Is @danielsaori's #steemitcommentchallenge ... Its a weekly contest where he picks a post to comment on, and everyone does their best to make good comments. It will help you meet people and you will also get rewards if you get good comments (same with Asher's league too btw).

I hope you keep dong well and growing, I see a lot of potential in you... I am happy to resteem this post and make sure it gets at least a $1 upvote on it! Great job and nice to meet you :)

Thank you so much for your advice. You are as awesome as they say.

I would have to echo what davemccoy said about joining the curation and engagement leagues. I guess it's a weekly contest with prizes for the highest engagers and curators, but it's also about getting out on the blockchain and meeting new people. People of all different walks of life and yes, amounts of experience, expertise and SP. The leagues have helped me quite a bit since I joined. I'm still in that boat of hoping to get over a $1 on posts, but it's happening more and more frequent now, so I would encourage you to continue to find your niche. :)

I am happy to know this. Thank you so much.

Congratulations!,@cheekah Your post has been upvoted by @reachout


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn



Major Upvote Sponsor : @bleepcoin

SP Donation by @rufans & @solomon158


Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout

You got a 3.29% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @davemccoy!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

I know it's frustrating, but I promise, it does start to pick up! The most important thing is keeping up with the friends you have and reading/commenting, as well as checking out people you haven't encountered before. As you do that, you'll bring in more friends, who will support you along the journey. Don't give up! It takes a minute but once you get some momentum going, it'll pay off!

I can relate to your experience but it's wondeeful you didn't give up easily. Patience sometimes is the key we need.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59