You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "New Women of Science Fiction and Fantasy" Book Review Contest

in #contest6 years ago

Ooh, I really really liked Arden's debut novel, The Bear and the Nightingale, and its sequel, the Girl in the Tower. The Russian history and mythology that came to life! The Winter god left some things to be desired, but at least he showed up when he was needed most, and... well, no spoilers... the climax of Book One seemed a little contrived, or maybe even silly, but the story was so engaging, I just didn't mind its flaws.

Sort:  

I think a part of my problem with it was that people kept comparing it to Uprooted, and... well... it does not hold up well in that comparison. Also, some characters were carrying the idiot stick way too much for my liking. Still... if you've read it, you can review it for my contest!

I've never read Uprooted, but I love Arden's novels, whatever their flaws. The ending of Book Two was far less joyous and held a finality that I hate. And speaking of the idiot stick... I'd almost knock Book Two down to four stars, or less, for the heroine making stupid choices. Here's my review of not just one but both books: https://steemit.com/contest/@carolkean/the-bear-and-the-nightingale-winternight-trilogy-1-by-katherine-arden

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57387.61
ETH 2518.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31