You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building your Future - one brick at a time...

in #contest7 years ago

Great words of wisdom and amazing to see you working on a problem that so many struggle with.

Yes it's a shame that the root cause can't be tackled more readily with the promotion of correct eating practices but this is the nature of the beast.

I can imagine in the years to come there will be a lot more to come, but also the possibility of cures, solutions and innovative tech to help.

Sort:  

Yes @calumam, they always say prevention is better than the cure!!! and considering the costs involved with treating diabetics versus the cost to feed people properly, there really is no comparison.
Hopefully once we can get the message out to the masses that it really doesn't have to be this way, hopefully people will start speaking with their wallets.

we saw it with big tobacco, now its time to sort out big food, and big Pharma.
People don't have to be able to afford Insulin if they don't need it. just think what they could do with those savings yearly!!

When we have an abundance of money, in the form of tokens, further down the line. Maybe some businesses that produce high quality food will be more inclined to set up organic health food businesses that trade with crypto. That would not only allow them to trade for less, but it would also give them a steady stream of revenue. Assuming that people would prefer to have healthy foods rather than the alternatives.

It would be amazing to see a solution like this in the future.

It's all down to choice at the end of the day. If you want to be healthy, you can. There is no reason why you can't.

that's actually a brilliant idea!!!!!

i love the way your mind works @calumam!!!!!

and you're right - everyone has the power to make the best decisions with what they have. I often will talk to people that say "I can't afford organic, so I might as well just go about eating what I want."

what? there is no logic to that at all. If you can't afford organic (and i'm sure you could afford it more easily if you choose to spend your money there instead of other places... LOL) then choose the best fruits and veggies you can find. THAT would be a proper alternative until you could choose better. I love the slogan "when we know better, we can do better" so.... let's grow!

100%! I currently can't afford it to be brutely honest, but I know what you mean. There is an awful lot of people who would rather choose the damaging alternative.

If you look after your body, you'll be able to not only live longer, you'll live better! The energy and feeling of a healthy body and mind is amazing!

Also, my mind has it's moments hahaha!

quite a few moments, in my opinion.

and choose the best that you can! CHOOSE....... the BEST...... that you CAN :)

You know what I did? and this is just me! But I would find one thing that I was spending money on that was a "treat" or a "vice" or something really extra. and I would just say -ok... with THIS money (maybe 1-2 dollars) I'm going to choose something different. something better.

it just starts there! maybe it's coffee, or a candy bar, or cigarettes, or a drink with the friends.... you don't have to stop those things altogether - just start with one! :) and take one less healthy thing - and make a more healthy choice.

I challenge you this week to try it ;) hehehehe

Ok you're on! You are totally right. It's down to choice at the end of the day and I can make little decisions that will make a big difference.

Tell you what, I'm going to use my Zappl account and I'll make a little post anytime that I make that decision. If it works out, maybe we can start a movement where people get involved :)

You know it! Look after your mind and your mind will look after you :D

#dreamondreemsteem! hahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67801.51
ETH 2617.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72