You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Merry Muxxmas Contest #1

in #contest7 years ago

Christmas is always weird here. Things are tense, to say the least, with my husband's family, and mine is six time zones away. Although I know I wouldn't be that happy about the insanity of a holiday back in the US, I also get oddly emotional when the time comes. And I expect it will be worse than usual this year, althoughI just got back from a visit on November first. Add to that that my health is acting up, my husband was sick for a bit... so we aren't even doing the usual double Christmas that we've done for years with Danish meal on the 24th and American on the 25th. Haven't bought each other presents in 10 years. We have some from my family, that will we open on the 25th. Haven't messed with a tree in 5 years ebcause of both expense and energy involved. Usually get greens in but I don't think it will happen this year. I didn't even get any baking done, because of both of us being sick and usually I make a lot of cookies. I was supposed to visit my MiL last night for preholiday dinner (she spends the 24th with others) but sent hubby on his own and stayed home sick.

BUT.... But this year I have an extended virtual family on The Writers' Block. They've helped me reconnect with a part of myself I'd given up on years ago... the writer part of me. And they've helped me feel productive again, which is huge when one has been unable to work for years.

And a friend worked on my muscles when I was in the US those two trips and put a big dent in my constant daily pain levels and improved my mobility.

So while there may not be a lot going on with the holiday itself and I may get weird and emotional about missing somewhere I don't really want to be....

I've already got everything I could have wished for this Christmas. Less pain, an improved sense of self, and I already had a husband who loves me despite all my challenges and both my dogs and my horses.

Sort:  

We are very lucky to have you at The Writers' Block and cherish all you do for us there.

I wish you a pain free Christmas and a healthier New Year.

Thank you! Many of you have become a sort of family for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40