You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Got Upvotes? WEEKLY GIVEAWAY #1 [Get upvotes on all your posts for a week]

in #contest6 years ago

For me, luck is the last little icing on the cake! Or in some cases, it is the complete cake....

You can do all the work and put in the hours and everything else that is required, but there is always one little last unexpected thing that drops in and just makes it all work (and that is serendipity, or luck!).... or if you are are incredibly blessed in some way, you can put in the minimal amount of all of the above, and somehow a ton of success somehow falls on top of you!

Many people attribute success (not necessarily monetary or work or life or happiness) to personal hard work or deeds. I think that the luck component is often under-rated...

Sort:  

Great comparison!
Too bad when you don't get that final "lucky" push... And it all goes like it was never worth it.
..so..is it icing or the cake? :)

I like to think it is the icing! That way, if it does not come, then you still have the yummy cake (the experience, and things that you learnt, relationships made).

Because of not being lucky I ended up in prison, nothing sweet about that... :)

Not all cakes are sweet! But they are the substantive part! I'm sure there are things that you learnt and experienced in prison that would potentially be part of a new cake!

PS: I starting to think the cake/icing analogy is starting get a little stretched!

yeah, me too...
Of course I learned some amazing stuff and read and did on my physique, but it could all go a bit easier if I was luckier...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43