You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Resteem The Deadpost Initiative! - Week 16 - Share your most undervalued work + week 15 winners ($11 STEEM prize pool)

in #contest6 years ago

Here's my submission! Your Reality Is NOT What You Think It Is

I just want to throw out a big THANK YOU to @whatamidoing for hosting this contest and also for everyone who left such kind and inspiring comments on my post last month. Y'all are awesome and it's truly appreciated :)

Sort:  

That was an eye-opening post @axios! The idea of 'maps' reminded me of the teachings in '7 Habits Of Highly Effective People' - of the paradigm shift. Any chance you may have read it? :)
Do keep creating such valuable posts and spreading messages of love and understanding, as it is greatly needed in the current self-obsessed world that we live in... or that we think we live in! ;)
Cheers.

Thank you so much for this feedback @yesaye! I really do appreciate it. I have read that book before - most definitely a great one. In my opinion, there are certian truths expressed in many different ways... so whether its from life, a book, a movie, or what not - as long as you get it, you get it!

Thanks again for the awesome and kind words here @yesaye!

Anytime buddy!

Like this post a lot, the world truly is all in the way we perceive it. recognizing your own filter and belief systems is very important, I think at least, it allows you to be empathetic and even just maybe see another perspective you pushed off before. Great post!

So true! Thank you so much @amariespeaks :)

I loved this post when originally posted and still do!

Still leaves me a tad tangled ~ p'raps it's a case of third time lucky for me.

Haha.

xox

This subject resonates with me right now, because I was actually having a pretty intense discussion about this earlier today.

The phrase epistemic humility comes to mind. Most of your essay makes sense to me, in that there is a larger reality differentiated from anyone's particular perception of it. To say "truth is relative" strikes me as reckless in the face of this, however.

This suggests that the fallibility of subjective perception somehow defines truth itself. Truth is simply what has happened and what is happening. Whether anyone knows it or not does not alter this - and I make this statement as a matter of epistemic humility. That very humility provides the usefulness of such a statement, which corresponds with much of what you wrote.

I like your epistemic humility phrase there. In my opinion it demonstrates that we operate with very little bits of the truth, while at the same time, operating fully from it by acknowledging that we don't know what we don't know.

Most of your essay makes sense to me, in that there is a larger reality differentiated from anyone's particular perception of it. To say "truth is relative" strikes me as reckless in the face of this, however.

There's different forms of truth in this sense then, isn't there? The truth of one person seeing at point 1a is likely different from the truth of the person observing from point 1b. They may share an objective truth, yet their personal truths are strictly based on where they are, in relation to the point of observation and the context from which they filter their own experience.

This can get very heady very fast. I think that it really does come down to the question, how do you define truth?"

I don't agree or disagree with you here @fireawaymarmot. I am mostly curious as to which truth is truth for you...

Thanks for reading and sharing this very intriguing perspective!

Interesting post, really got me thinking about my perception of reality, and the fact that my reality is only mine and no one else's. I think you just managed to blow my mind. Follower earned!

loved this post he first time around, loved it the second time around as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32