The 'BEST' Birthday Gift I Ever Received...(Good Vibes Contest #3)

in #contest6 years ago

Actually barring the over-all 'best' gift that I had ever received upon the birth of my child, many years ago, and the glowing love which came along with him, it was this tiny baby who would later in life, give me all the best gifts, for every occasion.

Yet, the one in particular 'best gift' came from my now grown child, as a recent birthday surprise. 

                              

                              Source

The gift (or should I say...gifts?) began that day with the arrival of my son, daughter-in-law and grandchildren from out of State, to celebrate my birthday. Without them here, I would have been alone and probably just celebrating with a candle in a Twinkie and my cat eyeballing me as if I had lost my mind...

Now my cat would not think I'm crazy for singing the Happy Birthday song to myself...she was quite accustomed to hearing my sudden, somewhat melodic attempt at vocalized harmony. She might cover her ears, or scatter out of the room, but watching me sing to a Twinkie with a lit candle in it, might have freaked her out.

                              

                              Source

So...the gifts started of course with my favorite people arriving with a show of love. My son got the kids and his wife settled into a comfortable hotel room nearby, then headed to my house to pick me up for dinner. Upon arriving, he found me viewing a YouTube video of a Fitness Center, run by a couple of relatively popular fitness advocates. The gym was one of the best equipped facilities I had ever seen, and it was only a few miles from where I lived.

As my son sat and watched me express excitement for wanting to visit the new Fitness Center and join, I was not aware that he was already on his smartphone, plotting a GPS route to drive me there. Not until we were both in his car and heading in a different then expected direction, did I learn of his intent.

We arrived at the Gym within ten minutes or so. My son took a tour of the place with me, and could easily see how pleased I was with it. Back at the front reception area, a staff member began giving us all the details about membership rates, hours of operation etc. Before the staff member could finish his pitch, my son pulled out his wallet, then a credit card, and to my surprise, said he wanted to buy a membership for me...

                              

                              Source

After filling out the paperwork, paying and getting my membership card, I gave my son a hug...almost through tears...I thanked him and told him how 'that' was the best present anyone had ever given me. He knew that my money was a little tight at the time, and I would have had to wait awhile to join on my own. The 'best' person in my life, gave me the 'best' gift ever; in more ways than one...

He actually gifted to me, a longer and healthier life...because we all know that a regular exercise program can easily add a few years or more to our life. Those 'extra' years I gained as a result, will bring me extra blessings, by gifting me a lot more time to experience the love of my son. 

My 'best' gift in life (my son) gave me the 'best' birthday gift, ever..."The gift that keeps on giving..?"

The Good Vibes Contest #3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65