You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building your Future - one brick at a time...

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Thank you for what you do!! It struck a cord with me as I've just been diagnosed a Pre-diabetic. I don't want to lose my limbs - in fact I would rather die!!! So it's a long road of trying to reverse out of the diabetic parking lot and back on the road to normal blood sugar. Giving up a life long addiction to sugar it tough but do-able. I think I'm winning!

Arrrgh me hardy capt'n @dreemsteem a holiday would be most welcome :D

Sort:  

@andysantics48, if you have only been diagnosed as pre-diabetic it should be highly unlikely you have these chronic complications, although some may have it.

If you stick around I will be giving some advice on how to combat and get yourself back to “normalcy” It is being proven daily that diabetes isn’t a life long condition anymore, but rather thankfully can be reversed. Some people can do this in as little as 3 months!! So plenty of hope. Just takes a bit of determination to stick the car in reverse and pull out of the parking lot, before you get locked in.

I came to steemit with the intention of documenting my road back to good health and weight loss journey. I hope to motivate some people so that they can do the same :) I have stopped eating most sugars and have quit things like bread, pasta, rice, and potatoes. It limits the diet but I'm not that strict that I say no to everything. I do feel better now. Any help or advice is most appreciated - I've followed you.

Yes its very interesting what we deem healthy and unhealthy and how misinformed people are about their food choices, sadly we are in an age of convenience and because of that the rayes of diabesity are on the rise.
I am only too happy to help you.
Perhaps I can a section on that to give you some inspiration

As far as food choices are concerned you just have to get a little creative.

Good choice to follow this one :)

@andysantics48 its you me and Rob again!!! its like a detox reunion! hahahahaha

i know what you mean about the loss of limbs! i was asking Rob how hard it is for him to see patient after patient dealing with the prospect of this! I can't imagine how hard (and how sensitive of a doctor he must be!!!)

but be encouraged that you're PRE diabetic - and you're being mindful of what you need to do now :)
i think you'll win too!

Somedays the call from the chocolate or sweets is too much to resist but it is getting easier the longer I do without. I have to keep reminding myself that this is not a diet to lose weight but to save me from misery of other complications later on!!!

Normally when your cracing sweet things it means your depleted of salts. I know some people swear by drinking some pickle juice to stave the craving, or if you can handle it have some really good quality dark chocolate.

this is SO good to know!!! I'm going to try this next time that I'm craving sweets!!!!

this is SO good to know!!! I'm going to try this next time that I'm craving sweets!!!

your sister had a cool recipe for some chocolate stuff.... hehehe go to her house and steal all her healthy snacks!!!!

Lol she lives too far away to pop in while she's out lol

Hahahhahaa darn!!!! Tell her to send some to you! Lol

this is SO good to know!!! I'm going to try this next time that I'm craving sweets!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67789.28
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72